Industrial Deals Magazine Deals Casual Friday Style nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One GNO for Samsung S9 Only: $44.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon marchmadness marchmadness marchmadness  Echo Dot Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop now TG18SW_gno

on April 28, 2014
Super bummed this shoe wasn't made with much love. I picked it out as it seemed like the most eco and animal friendly hiking boot/shoe I liked. The fit is amazing, extremely comfortable, breathable, Grip the ankle well.. . . although hesitant, I liked the drawstring. Most importantly they are extremely light (the only reason I refuse to buy heavy duty boots).


The soles started coming apart on the last hike I used them which was 26 miles. It was desert terrain so nothing too crazy. Little pebbles started getting stuck between the torn sole and became a nuisance while hiking. You can literally feel it poking your feet.

I want to return these shoes but Amazon says they are passed the return date. I will try their customer service. I usually purchase my hiking equipment from R.E.I. who has the best return policy ever, I decided to give Amazon a try. . . this will be my first return of this nature lets see how it goes. Hopefully it was a defected shoe but I've seen others have had the same problem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 17, 2013
I go hiking every weekend and got these shoes based on the great reviews on Amazon. These are the most comfortable hiking shoes I've ever had. They're lightweight, have excellent ankle support, and they fit perfect. The only concern I have is with the quick-lace feature. I mean, it's great, and it works, but when you pull it tight, the excess lace flaps around when you walk, and I worry it might get caught on branches/stuff depending on where you are. I just tuck it into the shoe, but it can find its way down around my foot and feels like a rock in my shoe. It's not bad, though, I think I'm just figuring it out still. But regardless of that, these are the best hiking shoes I've found, hands-down.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 9, 2013
40 years ago I used Red Wing's with the vibram sole ~ They weighed a ton, but with a little care and annual snow seal, they met my needs. Over the past 15 years I've used Timberline's; lighter but still leather inside and out. They took some breaking-in. But the Solomons!!! ~ I read the reviews, bought them and trained in them for a 1-day Mt. Whitney extreme hike.
They are incredibly light, took virtually no time to break-in, and feel like slippers! 10-weeks of hill sprints and fast marches across broken concrete. Plenty of grip and adequate support (my ankles were ok to start with), and a good platform.
Then, last June, we made the climb ~ 17-hours, and no damage to my feet ~ I couldn't believe it!
This is my second pair ~ after all that training and the climb I was visiting a brother in law, and I suggested he try them on a hike in California ~ He loved them and being a regular hiker (I'm occasional), I gave them to him. I returned home to Michigan, and it has taken me over 6-months to find my size on sale ($110) ~ So I've finally replaced them. I wore them for two days at work, and I'd take them to the mountains tomorrow (alas, no mountains in Michigan) ~ so I'll have to plan a trip!
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 10, 2013
These shoes are very light, fit great and are very quick to put on and take off. They took 2 days to loosen up and wear in, now fit and flex beautifully. Love the quick fit and release lacing system, takes me 5 seconds (literally) to put them on and take the shoes off! Spent 2 days walking in these and no sore points, feel very light and comfortable.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 19, 2014
Great hiking boots but one has to get used to the quick lacing system; never had that feature before! Time will tell.
Boots are extremely light with good ankle support and non-slip bottom sole. Previously, I've always had all leather boots so will see, how it holds.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 6, 2014
I bought these for work. I work on concrete and gravel most of the day and move around a lot. I bought a pair of Salomon Hiking Boots several years ago. They were the best shoes I had ever found for work, but they wore out fairly quick and after doing some research, that was what most people said about them. After several years of experimenting with work boots, gym shoes, etc. I thought I'd give Salomon another shot. I've only had them less than a week, but the comfort is very good like my older pair and the reviews that I've read are all pretty good about the durability of the shoe. I've got my fingers crossed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 20, 2014
Exactly what i was looking. I generally dont hike but in my workplace i do alot of moving. going up down ramps and just taking alot of beating to my feet and these protect them well with a comfortable fit. everything you need a sneaker with the qualities of a boot. Fits like a sneaker so if you wear a 9 in sneakers get a 9. one thing i did notice is that the heel tends to slip up and down but that was a plus for because i wear compression ankle sleeves and that solved that. perfect none the less.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 8, 2015
Wear them all the time, street and trail. Great side to side stability, without compromising your stride. Been wearing them over a year and hardly show any wear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 24, 2014
I hike in the hill trails around La Canada Flintridge for more than an hour every day. The first day I used these we did a long, continuous climb. On the way up I was feeling that these boots were a significant improvement over those that I had been using. However, once we started down, these boots were magnitudes better. They are the best hiking boots that I have ever had.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 2, 2013
I buy only good comfortable shoes because I have problems with my feet if I buy non quality shoes , These shoes are buy far on the top of the list for everyday wear in upstate ny. Very comfortable , fit well,feel sturdy,and the laces are the best they make the shoe fit "like a glove" awesome buy with every penny!!!!'
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here