Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch $5 Albums Electronics Gift Guide Limited time offer Try it first with samples Handmade Last Minute Gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon JCVJ JCVJ JCVJ  All-new Echo Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on August 1, 2013
First off, I'm a lady, but I purchased the men's leg warmers because Pearl Izumi doesn't really make women's cycling accessories (how 'bout you get on that P.I.?). However, anatomical differences aren't really an issue when it comes to accessories, so these leg warmers fit me perfectly. They do run a little small - I'm 5'3"/125lbs, and I was thinking I would need the extra small size, but I'm glad I went with the small. These guys are easy to put on, stay up through strenuous cycling and heavy sweating, and block the wind like no one's business. I've only had they for a few months - I purchased them to do a ride in the Rocky Mountains in June, where it was pretty cold in the morning but became hot as the day went on. We'll see how they hold up, but if they're anything like the rest of P.I.'s products they'll stand the test of time. 10/10, would buy again and recommend to friends.
33 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 3, 2013
Male, 5'6, 143. Size small warmers. Fits & functions well. However, the grippers allow the warmers to slide a bit even when worn appropriately under my Pearl Izumi shorts. Had to pull one side up while moving. Might be just need to pull them up higher; worst case I'll add a gripper material.

Ankle area has some excess material by design & a zipper to seal out the wind. Reflective logos on the back and sides. Wind barrier/shielding on the calf and knee. Remainder is lyca. Interior is fleece-lined. Cozy at 50*F.

Rolls up easily into back jersey pockets. Can be rolled down if the day warms up.

I would dock .5 stars if possible. Rounding up to 5. Not perfect but very good.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 16, 2015
Make sure to measure your legs and thighs. It's usually good to go with the size down if you fall in between sizes in products like these. I'm 6' and measured out to a Small in these. As for fit, maybe I could have went with a medium. The small comes down to about 4" above my ankle. I was hoping they'd be longer, but wool socks easily solve that problem in the colder months the leg warmer are used. As for warmth, they definitely do their job. Don't expect your legs to be on fire, but they keep the wind off and the heat in once your body temperature goes up while riding.

The only downside to these is that they slide down the thigh while riding. They won't come off or slide out from under your shorts/bibs, but it just gets loose and bunches and I had to stop to fix it once in a while on a 3 hour trail ride. For some reason, Pearl Izumi decided to put the little silicone grips on the outside. Although this sounds ok since you'll have your tights/bibs over them, it doesn't really work as expected. I'd like to try these if they're ever redesigned with the silicone grippers on the inside seam to see if that would help.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 4, 2015
I love the feel of the material - the front panel seems to have some wind breaking function but is also very nice and soft. Overall serve their purpose well. Interestingly, and as a side benefit - they seemed to be a bit tougher vs. other bike gear; I crashed recently and while my jacket, long sleeve shirt and these leg warmers all had holes in them, in the leg warmers it was quite small and easily repaired.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
These seemed to fit me perfectly out of the box - they're comfortable, light, and have the elastic/gripper band at the top. Unfortunately, the instant I start cycling they immediately fall down to my knees. I tried a size smaller and it was the same deal - I just can't keep these from falling down, and while I'm sure I'd look dashing wearing a garter on my bicycle, I can't recommend these. Ended up going with the full tights which are a much less aggravating way to keep your legs warm.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 27, 2013
This is an well designed leg warmer! Thank you Pearl Izumi! If you count up the panels... about 5, you'll notice that these panels are strategically placed to allow maximum movement in cold weather. The external elastic/grippers fits works well - underneath your shorts - and prevents the leg warmer from falling down. The reflective calf area allows for high visibility especially during night riding. The warmer comes with zippers in the ankle area which allows a custom fit. But the best feature is simply the front wind panel which covers the shins to just above the knee - this keeps the knee area noticeably warmer & made for a comfortable ride. Knee warmer riders would love this leg warmer! I have an earlier version of a PI leg warmer-thicker, thermal material but no wind panel & not as reflective. Combine the features of the warmer thermal material, the reflective & added features of the Pro Barrier then you'll have a perfect leg warmer for even colder weather. That being said, with the innovative design features of the Pro Barrier leg warmer, you'll easily be comfortable in mid 40 - 60 degree weather.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 28, 2013
This is an excellent product. A few reviewers have noted that they fall down. I haven't personally had that problem while riding, and I usually ride for hours at a time. I've used them in 30 degree (F) temps, and they keep my legs warm while cycling. The zipper at the ankles allow them to have a nice fit. The fabric over the knees is a wind breaker fabric which works great. Haven't had any problem riding in the rain either. There are also reflective elements on the fabric too which helps with visibility. Definitely would recommend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 16, 2014
I used these today for the first time and they worked out great in 45degree weather! stayed up without falling down a bit on my 16 mile ride. i did have padded bike shorts pulled over them like they are designed to be used so the little rubber "nubs" on the leg warmers grab the bike shorts. I read a few people who were using these without bike shorts complaining about these falling down on them, but when used how they are designed to be used, they seem to hold up just fine. Check your sizing on pearl isumi website to make sure you order the right size. Totally worth the money. would recommend to anyone, and I'm very picky!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 21, 2014
I ordered the x-large which fit snug, but they were comfortable. I wore a pair of biking shorts and a pair of long spandex pants on underneath the leg warmers and I needed them today.

The leg warmers kept me very warm during the ride, which was on a cool day (40-45 degrees).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 3, 2013
Picked up a pair of these during the recent Pearl Izumi sale, and I wish I picked up at least two. I had the chance to use these for the first time yesterday and was very happy with how they worked. My legs stayed warm throughout the ride, with only a slight breeze feeling and never cold. We started at about 45 degrees, and ended at about 60 degrees (if we were lucky) and I never felt too cold nor hot. A little bunching at the back of the knees at the start was quickly fixed while riding as they slid into place almost on their own. At least for me, I think the front seam at the knee is supposed to go just over the kneecap, and I didn't have it well positioned on one of my legs so it bothered me a little halfway into the ride (40 miles).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here