Your Garage Beauty LyingGame STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 118 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 124 reviews
on January 8, 2015
Based on the customer reviews, I decided to purchase these shoes off of Amazon. I was aware, while I was shopping, that people said the material the shoes are made of is thin, and they didn't last long. I have had my pair for 5-6 months now, and they're still working for me!

New Balance is a brand that I know fits my foot well. I wear size 7, so that's what I ordered, and they fit great! There are some places now, where the outer material is separating from the under-layer. I will need to replace them soon, but they have held up longer than I expected.

I needed good walking shoes badly several months ago. I could not find any in the stores where I live. So purchasing a pair of shoes off of Amazon, knowing that they may give out in only 3 months, was still a good choice for me because I needed this type of shoe so much to do the active things that I do -- walking, playing with son and his friends, working in my garden, and cleaning house.

If you are considering these shoes, just be aware they may not last as long as a $90 pair, but having this pair in the interim until you can find a higher quality pair, may be a good choice for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2014
I recently bought these with some hesitation because I haven't had much luck so far with New Balance shoes but I was looking for a pair to wear hiking for the additional traction and came across these on Amazon. They had very high reviews so I figured it would be worth it to give New Balance another try because I like the New Balance brand for apparel . (I previously tried the 880v3 for my marathon training and they fell apart quickly and were cutting my feet in odd spots). Now to these shoes, I ordered these with a friend so we were both testing our shoes for the first time this season. The shoe was a little wide for my foot so there was some sliding and by the end of the hike which was about two hours of fairly easy terrain my feet were in insane pain(the top of my foot was being rubbed raw, although with thicker socks this could maybe be solved). These shoes also did not have good traction when going downhill on rocks, I slide less wearing my normal running shoes. .

I also noticed that these shoes were already coming apart at the front of the shoe and doubt they could even make it another hike. My friends shoes were also showing significant wear and coming apart. Alas, I was so angry by the end of this that I wanted to toss them from my window on the drive home.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2016
I don't know if I bought the wrong size or what. I have always worn New Balance. Other than being a bit big the shoes have held up and performed well. They do have a little tear in them but I have worn them hiking through water and sharp rocks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2014
I have a pair of UnderArmour Chetco trail shoes and those things are much more substantial than these shoes. For example, the tread is over sized in the rear of the shoe to provide quite a bit of lateral stability. Also, the material overall seems thicker on the upper, but still breathable. These New Balance shoes are much less laterally stable, which is what I'm looking for in a trail shoe. The tread is more substantial than a regular running shoe, and appears to have more traction, but the lateral stability just isn't any better than other shoes. I was a little disappointed because I was hoping to do some hiking in these shoes. The plus side is that they seem VERY breathable, although you can't tell from the picture, and there is some toe protection in the front. I think they will hold up well on the trail because they do seem well made with few places where the stitching is going to come apart. Comfort wise these shoes are pretty comfortable, but not outstanding. They certainly won't cause any blisters or problems with my feet. Lastly, they are extremely light weight. That is a big bonus over the UnderArmour Chetcos, especially if you're a runner. The UnderArmour Chetcos can be considered "clodhoppers" for lack of a better term.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2014
I broke my foot a few years back but still walk for exercise daily. I need plenty of support and a wide show for comfort. These shoes combine the light breathable feel with great support on the upper. I walk on a rocky road with hills and hike so normal soles on walking shoes do not hold up. These soles are perfect for combining hiking and exercising. Actually I never take them off anymore, they are so comfortable I wear them everywhere. Favorite shoes I've ever purchased.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2014
This product is advertized as a wide width and it is wide enough in the forefoot area but very narrow in the insole of the arch area. My right foot in particular was rubbing up on the inside of the shoe. I bought the NB Trail Running shoes WT510 wide width in the past and they fit just fine. I added an insert to the shoe to help alleviate the problem. I haven't tried running in them yet so I don't know if the insert will work. When running on rocky, uneven terrain you need confidence in your footsteps. The 8.5 size seemed a little long until I put in the insert. I have bought many New Balance running shoes in the past and love the quality and that they make them in wide widths. I hope I don't regret not returning these shoes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2014
This is a good, stable running shoe. However, you get what you pay for. I never actually ran on a trail with it, but did do a lot of walking indoors and out as well as gym workouts. Within a couple of weeks the upper started breaking down where I have forefoot flexion. I did not wear these in a downpour, kept them clean - cannot explain off the breakdown as user error on this shoe. Attractive and comfortable - I wish they would have lasted longer. They are now retired to the "working in the garden" shoe pile. I will not purchase this model number again. However, I do remain an NB fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2014
I love New Balance sneakers and have been wearing many of their styles for years (from casual non-exercise shoes to more expensive running shoes). I love the look of these, and the size fits as expected. But it only took one or two wearings before the insoles in both shoes started bunching up (and I was only wearing them around town to get comfortable with them). Now I can't get the insoles to lay flat. I bought these for light trail hiking, but I will buy something better for that purpose. I just wear these as casual walking sneakers, and they are fine for that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2014
I have a similar pair of New Balance running shoes that are made on the same last as these, so I was fairly confident ordering online. They seem a little bit longer though than my old pair.

Still, I really like these and will be putting them to the test soon in a mud run.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2014
I was dubious about ordering shoes over the I-Net, but I have a Wide foot. I decided to take a chance and order my exact size only in the C/D width. This shoe is lightweight and comfortable with no pinching! It looks to be pretty sturdy construction; I was a little skeptical when I saw the stitching for the inside of the bottom end of the tongue of the shoe, but it does not seem to bother my feet at all. Overall, these shoes seem to fit fine with normal weight socks. I would probably have purchased the next 1/2 size up were I going to wear heavy socks.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question

Need customer service? Click here