Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 63 reviews
on December 27, 2013
I bought this to replace our side-by-side Kitchen Aid fridge, which I wasn't too impressed with. While we tried hard to blow out our wall behind the fridge so we could have a normal sized one and not a counter-depth, it just didn't happen. So, we bought this one after A LOT of research. It's been a few months and I'm very happy.
Pros:
I can see everything clearly in the fridge (eye-level).
I don't waste as much food because it's not nearly as deep and abyss-like as my old side-by-side fridge. Thus, I use everything up.
I like the ice maker in the door. It doesn't waste valuable fridge space.
The crispers actually keep the food super fresh. Waaay better than the old one.
Water filter works well. I could tell the difference immediately in quality.
Cons:
The shelves on the door aren't as numerous as my old fridge. But, honestly, I don't miss them.
Mu husband and daughter don't like that you have to open both doors to access the deli drawer. But they said it's a minor inconvenience (and it's their only complaint).

**I read previous complaints (which made me a little wary of buying the fridge) about the water dispenser dripping and issues with the ice maker. We haven't had any problems with either.
Also, I have a deep chest freezer in our basement, so I really can't talk about this freezer as much. BUT I would say that if I didn't have that, I might be slightly disappointed in the organization (maybe size) of this one. It has a couple of shallow drawers that are nice, but then there are 2 deep sections that hold the rest. I use it for large chickens and frozen veggies though. So I don't mind the lack of separation (shelving) that a side-by-side freezer provides.

Overall, I would definitely buy this fridge again. I'd recommend it too. :-) And I will never ever ever go back to a side-by-side fridge!
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2014
I had a hard time finding a fridge as I needed a counter depth fridge in my small kitchen. I read a lot of complaints of the water is not cold enough on this fridge, and think if you want the water ice cold use the built in Ice dispenser. I can drink water straight from the dispenser with no ice and I will not drink water unless it is very cold.
I love the deli drawer and it fits all of the items I need to put into it.
I admit the vegetable/fruit drawers are not very large, however I always prefer to use the Kinetic Go Green containers as they keep my strawberry's fresh for over 2 weeks at a time. With this fridge I actually have enough room for more than two of the smaller ones at a time.
Only con I had was the company who delivered lies about the delivery time. (Mine was delivered 8 days after the latest promise date when ordering.)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2015
Very well build quality fridge. We also bough the gas range, dishwasher and micro over from the same supplier and the service was excellent. It arrived on time, no dazzles, and no damage at all to any of the appliances the delivery person even put them all inside my garage.. The only setback we find with the fringe design is the fact that to open the storage plastic drawers inside we are forced to open both side by side doors, I think that this is wrong because it let cold air out of the fridge every time this maneuver is done. The design is high tech and beautifully done, but the issue of opening both doors to get access to the fridge drawers it's bothersome. Buy from this supplier!! best price in the internet and good service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2017
very disapointed at the the quality of this refrigerator. After only 3 years, Er rF error came out, ice and water dispenser don't work anymore plus refrigerator isn't cool enough. Had to call in repair service. Just hope it will not cost us a fortune.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2014
Nice build, looks good, good price. I very happy with this product. I may purchase more items in the future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2014
After doing extensive research with Consumer Reports, reading hundreds of reviews and playing around with dozens of fridges, we decided to take the plunge and purchase this fridge (through Amazon). We bought it from the HCcost which did a great job of communicating with us about the delivery. Delivery took about 2 weeks, which is pretty standard. HCcost gave "white-glove" service where they will deliver the fridge to any room in the house and will take away any boxes. For $40 more, they took away our old fridge too. Prices on Amazon were substantially lower than the two major home improvement stores even when they offered their annual sale on appliances.

THE GOOD:

Style: The fridge is beautiful. The front of the fridge is slightly curved out which means that it will almost always capture some light from your kitchen and shine (similar concept to a diamond). The LG in the top right corner is not very obtrusive and blends in well with the front. The front display panel and water/ice dispenser blend in well with the stainless steel front. The sides of the fridge are matte gray and also blend in fairly well with the stainless look (though in most installations you will not see most of these).

Fridge Space: This fridge has the highest amount of storage space in a French Door Cabinet Depth as of early 2014. On top of this, LG did a superb job of laying out the space in the fridge. The in-door ice-maker is flat and level. This allows you to put tall condiments in all areas of the left door (something you can't do in the Samsung model). This also means the top left shelf inside the fridge does is not impeded by the ice-maker.

Freezer Space: I went from a Side-By-Side (SBS) to a French door. This unit does have less freeze space than the SBS units, but does do the best job I have seen of any French door of organizing the space. The freezer opens to reveal the main lower drawer and automatically pulls out a second smaller drawer within it. There is also a third fairly large drawer you can pull out at the top. Having these three different drawers makes a huge difference since you don't have to pile food all in one giant drawer and just dig around to find anything. This is the only French Door cabinet depth model that has this feature (don't be fooled by the 4 door models - the 4th door is always fridge space, not freezer space). There is also a separator for the main drawer to help with organization and a tiny fold out shelf for spices.

Lighting: This fridge has excellent bright LED lights everywhere. Many other models have trouble lighting the different drawers, or the top left shelf (where lighting can be blocked by the icemaker). Even the freezer has good lighting on all shelves. The front panel lights be set to turn of after 15 seconds or so of opening the fridge except the ice indicator (cubes vs. crushed). The water and ice dispenser both turn on a light which makes it easy to see the water level in clear/translucent glasses at night.

Ease of Use: The freezer has an easy-open handle which breaks the air seal making it easy to open the bottom drawer (many units lack this feature). The top doors both open easily, though the right door is much easier to open than the left door. The ice-maker door is easy to open and the ice container is fairly easy to remove. Inside the refrigerator section, the largest drawer can be set to three temperatures and can be opened with both of the top doors open just past 90 degrees (some of the French doors require you to swing both doors open 120 degrees or so to access this drawer.

Noise: I am very sensitive to noise and wanted to get one of the quietest fridges out there. It is impossible to test this in person in any store since they don't have them turned on and the stores are usually noisy anyways. According to Consumer Reports, this fridge scored tied for the best rating for noise as of 2013 (Samsung was the other manufacturer they tied with).

That being said, the fridge is still a cooling unit and requires fans/compressors to run. The LG unit uses two compressors (one for the freezer and one for the fridge). Both of them are very quiet. One of the fans on my freezer that circulates the air does make a little bit of high-pitched whirl which is a tad annoying. My fridge is not within an alcove (many kitchens have a three walled spot for the fridge), so this may be one of the reasons I can still hear a small amount of noise (or it is possible the fan is defective). But in any case, this is likely about the quietest fridge you can buy today.

Smell: There is a carbon-based (de-odorizing) air filter on this unit. I thought this was a major gimmick, but it does actually keep the air smelling fresher. Note that this is primarily an odor filter, not a particle filter (like for your house AC). This filter is a huge money-maker for LG as you now have to purchase two filters from them every 6 months (water and air). If the smell never bothered you before on your fridge, you can simply not replace the filter for several years (since it is primarily an odor filter and not a particle filter it will not heavily impede airflow). However, if you are going to spend the money on a cabinet depth fridge, you can probably afford to replace these (I think they are about $12 a filter). I am sure in the future there will be some generic brand that you can get for even cheaper (they have several now for the water filters).

THE BAD:

Ice Quantity: The amount of ice that can be produced per day is fairly low. The unit does come with an extra ice pale in the freezer so you can dump the top container into this if you are expecting to have a party. I do not use ice except for making mixers, so this is not a problem for me. If you have a family of four that likes ice in every glass of liquid they drink, this may be an issue for you. Note: the cubes that come out are smaller than normal fridge ones. I like these since there is less of a chance of them freezing together into one big block of ice in your glass and you are not forced to imbibe crushed ice chunks.

Water Temperature: The water that comes out of this unit is cool, but not cold. I personally like room temperature water, so this is a plus for me, but most people expect water to be cold. The water filter does a good job of purifying the water, so the water does taste good (and thus does not need to be chilled for taste reasons). If you want cold water, you will have to add ice and therefore you may run into the above issue of the unit not producing enough ice per day.

Ice/Water Paddles: These two paddles that you press your glass against are not designed well for two reasons. First, these two paddles scratch fairly easily. If you get a new unit, I would advise putting ultra-clear package tape over these two panels (or some other type of protection). These paddles can likely be replaced if you need new ones, but it really seems like a design oversight. Secondly, these two paddles are not angled towards your glass. This means you have to press the very top of your glass directly against the paddle to get ice or water. If you re-fill your glass, this becomes a sanitation issue as you press the area where your mouth touches the glass against the paddle. My work around for this is to hold the glass in place and then press the paddle down with my other hand (this actually works for both issues). Again, this is a design flaw. You could easily add some one-sided gray foam tape to fix this problem (if you can stomach the look of it).

Non-magnetic Front: Yes, this unit has a stainless steel front. No, you can't attach magnets to it. This is true with almost all French Door stainless fridges. This does force you to have a very clean looking front of the fridge which I personally like. If you like to use magnets on your fridge, you can stick them on the side of the fridge or you can tape on a magnetic board. For Christmas cards and the like, we attach paper clips and hang these on a horizontal string up along the wall.

CONCLUSION:

Overall this is a very well designed fridge and in my opinion is the best available Cabinet Depth French Door fridge on the market. It is quiet, well organized and designed. There are some ice quantity limitations and minor issues with the water/ice dispenser paddles. However, it really excels at it's primary function of keeping food persevered and accessible.
44 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2014
My wife and I just bought a new house and wanted a counter depth unit to blend in with the other SS appliances. This unit met expectations. It fit perfectly and is flush with the counter tops. Looks great! The inside may be a bit small for some folks but if you're in to looks, this is the one for you. The interior has excellent LED lighting, adjustable shelves and room for just about anything. The freezer drawer and the drawer within a drawer are excellent. Has a huge amount of storage easily organized. Absolutely love it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2013
Well executed design; very expansive interior since the ice maker does not take up any of the refrigerator's shelf space; quick delivery and the freight company brought the refrigerator right to my kitchen and unpacked it for my inspection - taking all the packing material when they left.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2014
I purchased this refrigerator about a month ago. I am very impressed with it. I needed a counter depth model for my kitchen renovation and found model selection to be limited. I give this model high marks.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2014
We love the LG refrigerator and it was everything and more than we expected. The delivery, however, left much to be desired. Two surly kids who wouldn't lift a finger to help turned our experience sour. Still would highly recommend the refrigerator, just not their delivery team.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 18 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here