Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Straight Talk iPhone 5 Prepaid Cell Phone, 16 GB, Black
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Back to School

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 30, 2013
PROS- I moved away for college and had to start paying my own phone bill. It was my first year away, so paying for a smart phone on a two-year contract was too expensive, so I played it safe and got a prepaid dinosaur Verizon phone . I soon realized how crucial it was to check my email , social media, etc, away from my dorm room, anytime of the day (work emails, class updates, events on campus). I like many, was super skeptical of straight talk service, but who wouldn't be after having your parents pay for Verizon service for over 7 years. Eventually, one of my classmates convinced me to give it a shot, and It's been pretty wonderful. My iPhone 5 is my first Apple product (originally android user)and only paying $50 a month for service, is so affordable for my college kid budget. It's even better that I don't have to worry about going over a set data limit. Overall, I love it!!!

CONS- it seems like it slows down towards the end of the monthly billing cycle, but I have wifi all over campus so it rarely effects me.
- I called customer service twice and both times, the customer service representative spoke english as a second language (I presume), so the conversations were a tad bit difficult.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2013
Got this phone at WalMart and after it was set up, i had my number ported and up in running in less than 2 hours from Verizon. I hated high prices of Verizon, and had problems with my samsung galaxy after 9 months or so, tried Cricket for 1 day, and finally i decided to try apple and i will never go back. This phone is super fast for 3G (10x faster than cricket and almost as fast as 4G LTE Verizon), battery lasts almost 3 days before needing recharge (my Samsung lasted about 19 hours), and the software is so intuitive and user friendly. Plus you dont need to worry about getting your phone hacked in wifi locations like with android/pc products. Plus wifi speed is faster than android also. Siri is a great bonus also: just speak to it and it will search the net, make a call, find a business or restaurant. This is priceless cus it can do the work for you as you drive. The Maps feature is the best because on android, if you're following directions and have to exit the app, you cannot resume where you left off and have to enter the addresses all over again which is dangerous when you're driving. With apple, the app keeps running in the background and once you click it, it automatically resumes where you left off, blinking icon showing you where you are on the map. This alone makes the phone worth it. Plus, i don't get faulty addresses like i did with the android, the map app is up to date. I cannot believe how much improvement and features this phone has over the android, cus you would think that android programmers would just do the same stuff apple does, but they cant seem to get it right. The phone doesn't even come with a manual because apple knows you don't need it :) buy this phone and you will be so happy you did, especially if you're only familiar with android like i was.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2014
I ordered this iphone on Monday, and chose standard shipping, and the expected delivery was the 17th. To my surprise, it came in the mail this morning. I excitedly pulled out the phone, saw everything was included, phone, charger, earbuds, sim card and instructions. I was very satisfied.

Setting up my phone (with a new phone number) took less than 3 minutes start to finish, thanks to the instructions included in my package. The instructions online were confusing. After playing with my new phone for a little while, the battery started to die. I went to plug it in, and realized I received an iPhone 4 charger, not a 5. Everything else has been perfect. I'll give 5 stars as soon as my charger issue is resolved.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2015
The phone was in good condition and I finally got it to work after several hours and having to wait 24 hours after that. Phone came with everything needed except the Straight Talk service card which I purchased from Walmart. Part of the problem was being completely new to cell phones so there were a lot of terms to look up. YouTube was a big help. The learning curve was steep for me but I am satisfied with the phone and glad I was finally able to afford a smart phone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2015
I was nervous from all the negative comments on here. However My phone was brand new. CAME WITH the sim and activation kit for straight talk. I am VERY VERY pleased. I would recommend buying the new, not the refurbished. Anything refurbished has a risk of problems. I learned that the hard way.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2016
My 16 year old daughter bought this phone NEW and also purchased the insurance for it...Well, if you ACCIDENTLY drop it and it cracks...YOU ARE SCREWED...The warranty is automatically null and void..." When a phone is dropped or damaged all warranty is waived on the item." this is what was emailed to me. So, now she is without a phone and out of $300.00. Pretty s***ty if you ask me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2015
I have had this so called brand new, unlocked phone which on the outside was in excellent condition but after one day I now can't charge it. Loved the phone until the batter went dead! Buyer beware! No wonder it comes charged!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2015
Excellent working phone to start with when you cannot afford a new one. I bought a new one and it was defective, so I continued to use my used one until I exchange my new one at an Apple Store. iPhones are well secured with Apple and if you have under instance period they fix it for you. An Apple phone used or not is a good buy given that it works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2013
First off, this is WAY cheaper at Walmart. Second, the service is terrible and the internet is so slow you wont be able to do anything outside of WIFI
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2015
Less than two months after purchasing this phone the charger port began acting funny and not always making contact resulting in a dead phone that wouldn't charge. A week later it quit all together leaving me with a $300 paper weight. I'd rate this seller lower if I could. Don't buy their junk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 36 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here