Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning _baw _baw _baw  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 72 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 78 reviews
on October 29, 2012
I love my Ugg boots and have several pairs, but many of them have the warm lining and I was looking for something a little less thermal. I didn't want shiny traditional riding boots either, and I had my heart set on gray. There were few options. Frye's Celia X Stitch Knee-High Boots was the answer. It was hard to justify the expense, but I am loving them. Very comfortable, but the right boot fits slightly snugger than the left, yet not enough to go up a size (I chose a 9.5, but I normally wear 10). Even with wool merino socks on, the 9.5 size works well. The boots so slightly slouch, which I like. They can be a bit dressy (our to dinner) or casual (my son's baseball game). They feel expensive, feel high quality, and look good. I've tried other brands like Born, which have been disappointing.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2014
I pined for these boots for quite a while, ( the price kept me from giving in at first), but finally saved up and got them last fall. I own two other pairs of Frye boots, but was looking for a tall riding boot style with the flattest heel possible, ( which is why I chose the Celia style). I got these in Black Dakota, a nice matte black leather, which I find to be the perfect mix of casual and dressy. The calf area of the boot is also the perfect degree of slim and slouchy in my opinion. I have a 14 and 1/2" calf, and I think a medium sized ankle, and these are easy to pull on. The sizing can be a challenge when buying Frye shoes/boots online - which is how I've bought all three of the pairs I own. My feet are weird in that they are long and narrow, except for across the ball of the foot, where they are wide from bunions - and this is the one area I would say my size 9.5 Frye boots are kind of too snug. Not enough to be painful, but definitely uncomfortable during the "wear - in" period. I have one pair in another style that I bought in size 10, ( thinking maybe I should size up for this problem), but while better for me in width, these are markedly too long for my foot. So in case anyone out there shares this foot type, I suggest trying on the style you like for size in a shoe store, then seeking them for the better price here.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2015
Like other reviewers have said, these boots are high quality leather and beautiful color! I generally wear a 6.5 wide, with a high in-step. Also have pretty developed 15.25 inch calves. Due to the width/in-step and calves, I have not been able to fit into any Frye boot styles that I've liked. I purchased a 6.5 and they fit in length fine. Although I have not yet worn these outside, I'm still giving them 5 stars on look, quality & color, which is a beautiful brown color (Walnut). I had wanted the Saddle color, but it was not available in my size.

On fit, my feet have a hard time getting around the in-step, however, I expected that due to my width & in-step. The left is a little harder to get on than the right, but once on, they feel just a little snug around the ball of my feet and the leather feels nice and pliable and most likely will stretch. The calve circumference is about 15.5 inches so they are snug and unfortunately, I will most likely not be able to wear them with any kind of skinny jean or pants...at least for now unless that stretches too. Will be wearing these with dresses and skirts. Even though they do not have a leather sole/heel, these boots still look very nice and can be dressed up. As far as the heel goes, it is a very low heel with just about a 1/4 inch lift...pretty flat sole.

I expect that they will become softer and more comfortable with time.

So very glad I was finally able to purchase/keep a pair of Frye boots. Great addition to my little collection of boots :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2013
I absolutely love these boots! The color (Saddle) matches with everything and you could dress these up or down. The first day I got them I wore them and received so many compliments. This is my second pair of Frye boots (Paige Tall Riding boots in Black was my first). I wear these boots more then my Paige boots since they are so comfortable and go with everything. Just to let you ladies know I usually wear a size 10 US but since these boots run slightly large I got a 9.5 US and they fit perfect. Best investment ever on boots.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2014
I wanted a pair of Frye boots for years, but I wasn't willing to spend the money unless they were perfect. I had my eye on the cels stitch boot because of the simplicity and rubber sole. The leather is soft and looks fabulous. Be warned that it is soft leather, so they do bunch at the ankle. They are a bit loose on my calves, but they are the most comfortable boots I have ever worn. I wore them every day for two weeks when I first got them and they didn't require any break in time. The best part was that I snapped them up for $227, which is much more reasonable than the usual $430 price I see them for. If you don't want a slouchy, more casual boot, keep looking. But they are perfect for me and exactly what I wanted.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2014
I bought these boots in two different sizes in two separate orders. The first time, I ordered my usual size and they were too big. The leather was a beautiful rich and buttery saddle color. I was sad to return them, but they were too big and I knew they would stretch and get even looser because they're leather. Recently, I re-ordered these same boots in a half size smaller. Fit-wise, they were perfect, but the leather on this pair wasn't as rich looking. The leather had a weird dappling on it throughout both boots, almost like water damage, which made the boots look cheap. I suppose some variation in the leather is to be expected depending on what part of the hide is used, but the two pairs of boots I received were very different in terms of leather quality. Style-wise, these boots are similar to Frye Paiges, except for the rubber sole and a more streamlined top of the boot (no double panels like the Paiges, which can add girth to your legs).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2015
So far, so good! I've had these for a few weeks and I couldn't be happier with them. I have VERY wide feet so I was a bit hesitant when I read that Frye boots can be a bit slim. I tried them on fresh out of the box, and sure enough they felt narrow. BUT they are very high quality genuine leather so I knew that they would conform to the shape of my feet. I just had to be patient! I wore them around the house with thick socks for 1 week, and they broke in VERY nicely. I bought Frye leather conditioning cream for them and they look beautiful after applying that. It will weatherproof and condition them. I love the flat foot with the sturdy rubber sole. A family member was feeling the toe of the boots and actually asked me if they were steel-toe (they aren't) because they just feel SO sturdy. It's awesome! I've gotten many compliments and the color goes with everything. Well worth the investment!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2013
After wearing my first pair of Celia X Stitch boots around the house for 2 hours I was already beginning to get a "rub" pre blister. I discovered that there was a permanent crease in the leather on the heel. I called Frye, and they suggested I just return them rather than taking them to a shoe repair to see if they could punch it out. My second pair were PERFECT. I visually checked them for the same issue, and finding no problem, I wore them to a concert where I stood for just over 6 hours. No problems. They pull on with a little effort, but that's okay, because the leather will stretch, and I don't want them to be too loose. I love the color Saddle, the height of this style (I'm 5'8" and they come just below the crease of the back of my knee). I can wear a pair of "skinny jeans" and they fit inside the boot just fine. I like the rubber bottom, because here in Michigan I figured it was a better option than the all leather bottom. The fact that Amazon was running a bonus, and I also received 25% off the price made this a no brainer. In fact, I ordered a black pair (different style), but these are my favorite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2014
These are great boots. As another reviewer posted, I was looking for something a bit nicer to wear instead of UGGs or my winter boots and came across these. Unlike all of the other Fryes that I tried (this time, I also tried the Phillip ring and Carson tall boots), these have a very low heel, grippy sole and bigger calf diameter. I am in my 3rd trimester and really wanted something cute, but also comfortable. My calves have never been small, but they are not huge and are a little bigger in pregnancy. I wanted pull on boots, but had a tough time finding some that were big enough in diameter to wear with comfortable socks and leggings (let along skinny jeans). The leather is super soft and smells like a saddle shop and they are just what I wanted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2013
Frye boots are wonderful, and these come highly recommended by many people. However, I have skinny calves and very slim ankles. These boots slid down and bunched at the ankle in a way that is not intended. I have the Veronica Slouch and love them, but these didn't fit my leg well. Very good quality and a beautiful boot.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here