Your Garage Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning billions billions billions  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 63 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 71 reviews
on June 17, 2009
I received this kit over a month ago. I followed the directions pretty closely, although I wouldn't call myself a green thumb. Everything sprouted but about half of the seedlings didn't make it in the long run. Certain plants seem more hardy: cilantro, mint, oregano, chives and basil all have since been transplanted and are doing well. This is a great, easy way to start herbs from seed and the tray is reusable. It also comes with more of the starter "pods" than will actually fit in the tray, so you can always try a second batch later after you have transplanted the first batch to larger containers.
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2016
I gave this to my daughter for her birthday because she loves to cook with herbs and thought this would be an added treat but she loved it at first until she saw how complicated it was and never used it. So, I was a bit disappointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2017
Not impressed with this
Lots of seeds
But plants seem weak
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2013
Great product received in a short amount of time and enjoying it ever since. The variety of the different herbs is awesome only after a week sprouts are already showing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2017
Perfect! Great deal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2012
I bought this kit for myself in January, in hopes that I could start a herb garden. I chose four of the twelve plants that I wanted to try, followed the instructions carefully, and did two plantings of (multiple seeds of) each herb, in case something went wrong with one.

First, the tray is very flimsy, and the top doesn't seal well, so I wasn't able to keep it completely sealed as directed before the seeds sprouted.

Despite diligently monitoring the water supply and keeping the herb starter in full sun (even moving it across the living room floor to follow the sun), the starters got moldy very quickly. (Even when I didn't leave excess water standing in the tray and very carefully only added more when the dirt needed it!)

I also found that (perhaps because of the mold or perhaps because of the system) the seedlings were weak and never seemed to get to the point where they would be hardy enough to repot. I also found that once I started putting the tray outside to harden the seedlings, the dirt "pods" held together very poorly and even a small gust of wind would blow everything over or tear some of the soil away.

Bottom line: for $30, you can go buy young herbs from your local nursery and repot them into something pretty and fertilize them nicely. Don't waste your time with this overpriced, flimsy kit.
33 comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2013
Is it overpriced like some reviewers have mentioned? Absolutely. You could buy all the separate contents for much less. Is it fun regardless? Absolutely! Does it work as spelled out in the package contents? No, it works better.

I was struggling with something to get my mother for her birthday and decided on a greenhouse she could set on her deck because she loves plants. That linked me to this. I thought, "Yeah, it's not worth the money, but whatever." Then I decided since she lives in another state that it was something we could do "together" and bought one for myself as well.

We both started a week ago today. Almost all my pellets have sprouts, as do hers. The only things that haven't sprouted are my sage, which takes longer because I froze it for five days, and my parsley, which is unfortunate because I use parsley more than any other herb. Oh well, no great disappointment if that one thing doesn't come up. My mustard and dill are already around an inch tall.

I'm not understanding the reviews that say the product doesn't work. I can't help thinking they didn't follow the instructions. I've used these little greenhouse/pellet sets for years to start vegetable seeds I bought separately and have always had great success with them. I've just never used them for herbs until now.

If you're thinking of buying this, just be aware you don't just water the pellets then dump the seeds on them. The seeds have to be soaked, and you likely will not get plants if you neglect that step. You also need to plant them at varying depths and keep the tray out of direct sun, which might seem counter-intuitive but is standard anytime you use one of these. I keep mine on a table next to window that gets indirect sun and give it half a turn every day. When I went to simply do the turn after three days, a bit of green caught my eye and I thought, "No way!" I already had several things poking above the peat. I went to look at the detail sheet again and found that none of them were expected to sprout for at least ten days, so that was pretty exciting. My mom said hers were doing the same when I called to tell her about mine. I'm not worried about the ones that haven't sprouted yet since it was only last Sunday that I did the planting, so I'm still a little short of seven days.
22 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2010
I was very new to growing plants, especially from seed, but this kit is very easy and takes you through the basics of growing herbs from seeds. The seeds are very high in quality and include a huge variety and enough seeds for a couple of years. Great gift, too.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2015
I followed the steps very closely and not 1! seed is budding from the garden. I've resorted to trying different lit rooms and watering techniques, but nothing happening. Unless you like to watch things grow, it is much cheaper and easier to buy pre-sprouted herbs from a garden center and just play with them that way. HOWEVER, the seeds do work when planting them in your own soil and container...for whatever reason the pods didn't work for me.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2016
I LOVE this kit. It makes growing herbs so incredibly easy. Place the dirt pods in the tray, add water, let them expand, then add the seeds and push a bit of dirt on top. They start to sprout within days! and since the pods have an encasement it is super easy to transplant into a pot when ready. The seed packages come with a lot so you can grow as much as you truly want. Excellent gift as well!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse