BCA Month Beauty Magazine Deals Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now HTL17_gno



on March 9, 2014
I've been wearing the same size New Balance sneakers for 15 years, mainly because they offer different widths. I've always been a 9.5, 4E width, but these MX623, with the standard 001 last are definitely smaller and narrower. They also appear to be stiffer and need a break-in period. I'm hoping that they widen as they soften. As a temporary measure, I've loosened the shoelaces from bottom to the top, and skipped the top pair of holes, and has eased-up the fit. (NB also has some lacing variations to check online, which can personalize the fit.) Other than the stiffness coming from the water resistant material, how can the identical last fit differently? Is there a problem with quality control in Indonesia? My last pair were made in the USA.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2014
First, these shoes are very comfortable with good support. I ordered my size, which I have worn in New Balance for at least 15 years and never had an issue. This shoe runs small, I returned them and re-ordered an entire size larger. The larger size fit well and now I am happy with my purchase.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2014
I bought two pairs of these NB MX623 (brown and white) in the same NB size that I have worn for last 10 years. The two pairs of shoes are of lower quality and don't fit. They are both too narrow and too short as compared to NB shoes of the past. Very disappointed!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2014
I have several pairs of New Balance Cross Trainers and Walking Shoes but this model is a much narrower toe than my others. I ordered this in a 4E width and it still pinched my toes enough that I had to return them. If you wear 4E then don't bother with this one, otherwise order up on the width.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2015
These shoes are great. It took me forever to find some good water resistant shoes for work because hardly any stores have them in stock on location, at least for a size 12. I am not sure why the other reviewers have had problems with shoe width. I have a wide foot and a size 12 shoe. Amazon didn't have 12 in stock so i had to go with the wide 12.5 4E. This shoe fits better out of the box then my last pair of water resistant new balance shoes i bought last year (different product). The width is perfect and my feet dont get squeezed. I can wear them all day without any pain or chaffing on my toes. If shoes arent wide enough normally my pinky toe would chafe and get blisters but these don't do that.

water resistance: At my work we deal with a lot of water and so far my feet stay dry whereas with my old worn out shoes i replaced, i would go home everynight with wet socks. So far these keep my feet dry

Foot heat: I have tested out many pairs of waterPROOF shoes and one thing in common they all have is they make my feet way too hot and sweat to much. No matter how much they advertise its breathability they are still a hot shoes. These new balance mx623's though do not make my feet hot and sweaty, and they feel close to normal running shoes with breathability
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2015
The shoes were returned because they were too narrow for me to wear. I would say they looked nice and were well constructed. There was no arch support to speak of, a problem I have noticed with several styles of New Balance shoes, so I always assume I will wind up adding and after market insert to get a better arch lift. This particular style did not run true to size. I have a number of other pairs of recent New Balance shoes in size 15 4E and all have a generous toe box, almost square, which is what a wide foot like mine needs. These were almost wide enough across the ball of the foot area, but immediately narrowed down and were much to narrow in the toe area. I tried my thinnest socks and there were still too narrow. I would say that they are not a true 4E.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2015
I usually walk my 1-year-old golden retriever in the mornings, but after work I prefer to put her in the car and head to a nearby park or school to get her some good run-around time. So I was looking for a durable, comfortable shoe that would also keep my feet dry while walking through wet fields during the rainy spring and always-wet winter months.

This shoe is extremely comfortable, and seems to be very durable as well. It's great for walking and light hiking. As far as being water resistant, I'm not sure it's much better than any other typical athletic shoe. Certainly better than a mesh or cloth running/hiking shoe, but on very dewy mornings my socks still get wet.

I highly recommend it for it's comfort, but for heavy hiking, or walking through soggy fields and woods, I'd wear actual waterproof/heavy duty boots. Still a very nice shoe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2014
I have been buying and enjoying New Balance shoes for 20 years. I like the wide sizes - I need them. When I first put on a pair of 10.5 4E shoes it was a revelation and I've never gone back. The wide shoes are wide, look like my feet and don't crush my toes.

Until now.

I wanted a pair of shoes that fit like New Balance running shoes but looked suitable for casual work wear. These looked good on Amazon, but the reality has been a disappointment.

Following the recommendation of other users, I had ordered a larger size to ensure a good fit. Even so, the shoes look like a narrow shoe that has been begrudgingly widened in the middle. The end result is a shoe that doesn't look good *and* pinches my toes. Additionally, there is little or no arch support in these shoes. Unlike the running shoes I normally buy, these are flat flat flat. With prior NB shoes I would remove the slim foam liners so my orthotics would fit properly. In this case, not only did I have to leave them in, I had to pad the bottoms of the liners with gorilla tape just to ensure I had any arch support at all.

This is the first pair of NB shoes that have let me down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2014
I have bought the New Balance 600's shoes for years. I currently have the normal white w/blue 623. Like them. I don't know what they did to these shoes. Worse shoes I have ever owned. Within 1 hour, my feet hurt. The shoes feel thin as a board in the bottom. I bought $20 extra thick inserts. They helped, but the shoes still hurting a bit! Can't believe it. Will never purchase these again.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2015
I normally wear either a size 12 or 12.5 athletic shoe in 4E width. I ordered these in 12.5 4E based on other reviewers comments to size up. The shoes fit well for length, but are a little narrow in width at the ball of the foot for a 4E. I can still wear them. Nice looking shoes and are relatively comfortable to wear right out of the box. The shoes come with good quality laces of an adequate length. I replaced the original insoles as they're thin low quality junk as is typical with original insoles in most new athletic shoes. I've found replacing the original insoles with a good quality insole from Superfeet or New Balance increases cushioning and comfort greatly. Overall these are good quality shoes and great value for 50 bucks. I'll be pleased if I they hold up about a year for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here