Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning Landline Landline Landline  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 103 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 112 reviews
on November 10, 2013
When I tried these on, I thought they were the most comfortable flip flops I have ever worn. They have great arch support and I wore them daily around the house & sometimes outdoors. One day, however I was washing the car and I was standing in water most of the time. I let the sandals dry, and about 3 days later, I noticed they smelled really bad. I think what happened is that all the "bumps" in the textured surface of the footbed absorb a small amount of water and provided a breeding ground for mold/mildew/fungus. The really big problem was that it got transferred to my other shoes & socks. I had to declare war and completely sanitize all shoes & socks I had worn before I realized what was going on. I'm hoping it doesn't come back because it's been a big inconvenience to say the least. I think these would be great to wear as long as you don't get them wet; if you do get them wet, be sure to sanitize as soon as you get home & then dry them in the direct sun for a few days.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2014
This is my second pair of these. I happened upon my first pair at REI years ago, and only bought them since I had an incredible coupon. So so glad I did. These flip flops are not your regular rubber shoes. They have a thick sole that is fitted and cushioned. The straps are leather (or like leather) and I have never had an issue with rubbing. My first pair lasted 4 years, and I had to throw them away only after I stepped on a 1 inch Mesquite thorn (the shoe still protected me and I thought it was a rock) and realized the bottom was wearing a bit thin. This is a comfortable and stylish waterproof shoe with a thick and anti slip sole to provide support and protection, while still being a "flip flop" for all intent and purposes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2012
I virtually live in flops. I have a home in South Florida and also spend half the year in Central and South America, needless to say, I am accustomed to hot humid weather and what's better to wear than a good pair of flip flops?? I have burned through many pairs of flops and sandals including Chacos, Tevas, Keens, you name it and while they all have upsides, they also have faults. I can summarize what I like about these Reef Playa Negras: harder rubber compound in footbed does not seem likely to absorb moisture and get funky, textured footbed makes for sure footed walking even in wet conditions or off-roading =), sole is nicely made and offers good traction and a hard durable wear surface and lastly, these flops are pretty classy looking so I have no problem sliding them on with a nice pair pf slacks and heading out for dinner and drinks. I wear a 10 1/2 to 11 1/2 shoe depending upon brand and found these pretty much true to size, the 11 fits well, the 12 would be overkill and clown shoeish...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2015
One of 3 pair of Reef Sandals I have purchased that the thong pulled out on the side...it did not tear, just simply came unglued. Such a shame for such a well respected company. In each of the 3 cases, it happened when the sandals were just over 6 months old, but less than a year, so they were out of warranty. To be fair about build quality, I have also purchased 30 + pair of Reef sandals that have had no issue in the past 2 to 3 decades ( beach family of 5).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2012
I walked into REI with a $50 gift card looking for a deal on some flip flops. Found these on the clearance rack and was rather astounded at the price. For a pair of flip-flops?! REALLY? Tried them on and was rather amazed at just how comfortable they were. What the heck? Why not? Isn't that what you do with a gift card? After two months of wearing them non-stop, it was clear to me that these were, without any doubt, the BEST, most comfortable flip-flop/sandals I've ever owned! Unfortunately, I can't find them at REI anymore so I bought a backup pair off Amazon. There's plenty of life left in the originals but I can sleep soundly at night knowing that when the time comes for their retirement, a new pair awaits in the wings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2014
I have a 9 1/2 size foot and have always purchased sandals that are a half size too small rather than a half size too large as it always seems to turn out better that way. This sandal was very snug when I first put it on. Enough so that my toes were a little tingly after a couple hours of wearing them, presumably from the lack of circulation. However, after a couple of weeks of wearing them in all sorts of conditions, they are breaking-in nicely! They are shaping up to be a really great sandal. I am glad I purchased them!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 28, 2011
I live in Arizona, the Summers are always very warm, my clothing consists of shorts, t-shirt and a pair of flip-flops. I have a good collection of sandals and flip-flops for the season. These are one of my favorite pair. I like the cush on the heal when walking and the fit. I usually wear an 11- 1/2, so I ordered a 12, perfect! These are comfortable and well made----I will buy again. Enjoy!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2013
My son had a pair that he said were REALLY comfortable. I tried them on and even if they weren't the right size, I started using them because they were soooo comfortable. So I bought my own. Great arch support; soft, bouncy feel, nicely formed foot straps that don't collapse when you take them off (and thus are easy to get back on); nice soles that offer just enough traction and stability on multiple surfaces; and nice contour overall for your feet. Living in a tropical climate, I've worn and tried many different brands and styles. This is my favorite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2014
These are my third pair of Reef Men's Playa Negra Sandals. I normally wear a 12 EE in running shoes and these fit great. Seemed most of the other brands ran narrow. The other main reason is the stability arch support that I get from these sandals, very comfortable and lots of support. Highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2013
This is a quality sandal. Very comfortable. Many folks gave it 5 stars and I can agree with that. My individual problem is that my feet perspire easily. The Reef footbed has an open cell foam texture which will cause the underside of my feet to overheat. In the past, I've purchased a sandal with a similar design. My feet were swimming in sweat and dirt which got 'funky' smelling very quickly. I returned the sandals to Amazon and bought a pair of Chaco sandals. If you have 'dry' feet I would highly recommend this sandal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here