Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: SHARKK® Set Of 24 Metal Stainless Steel Collar Stays In Clear Plastic Box in 4 Sizes For Dress Shirts (Mixed Sizes)
Amazon Vehicles Back to School Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Ingrid Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer conj2 conj2 conj2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Kiss Rocks Vegas Back to School STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I wore a suit to work for 35 years and I owned a lot of shirts that use collar stays. They help your collar stay flat and sharp and it makes the collar look like it is supposed to look. I like metal collar stays and I always owned some. Most shirts come with plastic ones but they can get bent and they don't always lay flat. I didn't like having to worry if one side of my collar was not in the same shape and place as the other side.

Let's face it, if you are going to put on a suit coat and a nice dress shirt you want to look nice and you obviously care about your appearance. These metal stays make your shirt and collar look sharp and first class. I put together a short video to show what they look like and what's in the package. I rated them at 5 stars.

I was supplied with a sample for test and evaluation and I promised a fair and honest review.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2013
This set of collar stays is everything you could possibly want in collar stays (also known as collar bones, sticks, tabs, and knuckles). The handy assortment of four different sizes assures a stay for every occasion and every taste. All 24 tabs come wrapped in soft, clear plastic and are housed inside of the smart, sturdy plastic SHARKK box shown in the photo. The stainless steel insures they won't warp or bend or wear out anytime in the present lifetime of the user. You just can't go wrong with the SHARKK collar stays. My one caveat is that if you prefer a little flexibility in your collars, you may feel just a tad bit constricted by the rigidity these snazzy support implements afford. But if the more staid look and feel of the stiff and stalwart old school is your preference, then you will be in collar-heaven. You can pay far more for similar products elsewhere, but you'll not get a finer set of stays at any price.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2012
Nice alternative to plastic stays however the edges are somewhat sharper than other stainless stell stays I have. I am slightly concerned that over time they will wear the collar from taking them in and out because of these sharp edges. Not sure if I'll use or not. For the price its impossible to return and get any money back. These stays are concave on one side, this is the side where the edges are sharp. I suppose I could finish the product by filing the sharp/rough edges off with a file, but really should I have too?

No problems with shipping, they arrived as stated.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2013
Funny how excited I got about these. Had never seen metal collar stays. Ordered the Sharkks as they seemed to be better than some cheaper ones yet still very reasonably priced.

They do work. Problem is they have sharp unfinished edges. For a cheap shirt, fine. But there is no way I would put them into one of my nicer ones.
55 comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2014
This product was exactly what I hoped it would be. I was tired of standard plastic collar stays that come with most shirts. However I was reluctant to purchase metal stays as the pricing I had seen tended to be too high. I stumbled across these while doing my holiday shopping and the pricing seems very reasonable. I gave them a try and I am very happy I did! My pile of old plastic stays is not long gone and replaced with this neat little plastic case on my dresser valet. They work perfectly and for a very reasonable price.

Note: I purchases the mixed size set as I own a variety of shirt brands and styles. I am happy with the selection of sizes and I use most of them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2013
I finally got tired of wearing the cheap plastic freebies that came with my dress shirts. Doing a quick search on Amazon really surprised me. For something so basic, there are a lot of options. To be honest, I chose this one due to its price and prime shipping. The package is a simple clear flimsy plastic box, but really that's not an issue. The collar stays are nice, I didn't notice any defect and have a good weight to them. They do the job required of them, and make the appearance of dress shirts look like actual dress shirts. Very pleased with the purchase, and honestly, I can't figure out why anyone would spend more than this on a simple product. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2013
These little metal stays (they come in several lengths packed together inside the clear plastic box)are not just for sticking in a collar. While reading a glass art blog, I read a post by a woman who commented that she purloined her husband's collar stays to use as small palette knives in her paint mixing. I thought it was a superb idea for mixing vitreous paint (for glass fusing), which you have to stir a bit, especially is you are blending colors. I began to look for metal stays (which the paint would not stain) and found these. They are not too stiff and will give a little, which is useful. And I can use several at the same time if I am mixing a couple of different colors of paint, so having 2 dozen is handy. They arrived in just a few days so service by 9steals (the seller) was excellent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
The Sharkk stainless steel collar stays are superb, and almost perfect.

They do what they are supposed to do, and do it very well -- much, much better than plastic stays. The four sizes could, for me, be decreased to three sizes (because I hate tiny, short collars and so I just don't buy shirts like that), but I knew all that before I ordered these.

The plastic box allows me to easily see what I'm looking for. I like that they aren't all dressed-up in some other type of presentation container that only would have significantly added to the cost of the collar stays themselves.

For the money, this Sharkk set of stainless collar stays represent probably the best value for stainless collar stays on Amazon.

Finally, they are "almost" perfect because they won't find their way back to me when I misplace them. But then, that'll be my fault!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2013
For those of you who wear shirts with collar stays, these stainless steel Shark collar stays are a must. I got tired of after awhile having the plastic collar stays break in two when removing them. I saw this idea of stainless steel collar stays on line, and thought, "Why not"? If you want your collar to look sharp I suggest you get this set of Shark collar stays. The neat thing about them outside of being stainless steel that will last forever is they come in different sizes to a fit just about any shirt collar. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2013
They're collar stays, they're metal, nothing bad to say about them. I've owned them a short time, and got to say they seem to be of good quality, I like the variety of sizes. I only wear one shirt at a time, so the extra stays are just...well, extra. I guess they would come in handy if I ever lose some. I keep them in they're little plastic bag that they come in, and arrange them in the case (which is great, durable) by size. This method seems much more logical to me vs opening them all and dumping them in the case as depicted in the product images. Anyways, great collar stays, give em a shot!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here