Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 262 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 306 reviews
on January 10, 2013
I'm glad I read the reviews before I purchased these shoes. I normally fall somewhere between a 7.5 to an 8 but purchased an 8.5 based on everyone's suggestions. SO happy I did. They are a great fit. Great for hiking, walking and running. SO much lighter than my other sneakers and have experienced no foot pain while adjusting to the minimus style. My feet feel way happier in these shoes. SO many people have complimented the trim appearance.

UPDATE: OK. Now that I've owned this product for a few months I have two things to add. I still love the shoes. They are still great-looking, comfortable etc. however they do get smelly REALLY easily. I shower daily, change my socks daily and yet within a few weeks of having these shoes they smelled horrible. My other sneakers that I've had for two years have no odor to them and I've never washed them. I washed the shoes and now they smell fine but just be warned. :)

ALSO- I developed a stress fracture after a month of wearing these. From what I've read this is very common when jumping in to wearing minimus/ 5 finger shoes. I did NOT follow the instructions to slowly incorporate these shoes into my routine so it is ultimately my fault. Basically after wearing cushioned shoes while exercising our whole lives our feet are weak and need time to develop and get used to barefoot-style exercise. I will definitely go back to wearing these when my foot is healed. I will follow the instructions this time.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2013
I bought these shoes in May of 2012 and, like most other reviewers, I found them too be small. I had to return the original pair and buy a half size up which fit perfectly. I wanted to wait to write a review because this was my first time with minimus type shoe and it took me a while to get used to them. I am not a runner. I bought these as a type of crossfit shoe for the gym. I did suffer through a small adjustment period. Primarily, my achilles ached sometimes after use. But now I really like them. They are super lightweight and comfortable. I do use them in bench classes and kickboxing, both requiring lots of movement. I am now buying a second pair. My only complaint is the smell. It's pretty terrible. I thought if I had 2 pairs and alternated between the them it would allow them to dry out. I work out 5x a week. I hope I am right. Otherwise I will continue to store them in my laundry room inbetween workouts. They will smell up my closet if I don't.
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2012
I have been researching and experimenting with barefoot running. I love the concept behind it however need a little protection from the cold ground, and rocks. I absolutely love these running shoes. In my opinion they are as close to barefoot running as a person can get. They allow a mid foot strike and use the toes to push off. Because the whole foot is used I feel my muscles in my legs and feet being strengthened. The shoe has a snug fit. I went a 1/2 size larger. I will purchase these shoes again.
Additionally the service from Amazon and their partner was superb!
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2013
I ordered these shoes a half size large after reading the reviews and that did the trick. I needed a wide toe box and these delivered. As most people say, it takes a few days to get used to wearing minimal shoes, but the patience is worth it.
These shoes are nice looking and comfortable out of the box. I wear them with socks, but I don't think you need to. I can walk on gravel or dirt roads fine and they protect against the sharp edges. I feel the rocks, but that is what minimal shoes are for. I have a bit of a problem with hard surfaces when I walk fast, but at a strolling pace or just out and about they are fine.
UPDATE: These shoes look so small. I mean they are small and lightweight, but the things they will do for you are incredible. It took me about a month to get fully accustomed to the way my feet and legs needed to be. Then we went on a trip to a national park and did some hiking. In two days we hiked about 10 miles over rough and rocky terrain. I took a chance on just using these shoes because we were flying and I didn't want to take hiking boots. It is hard to fit hiking boots in a small carry-on. Well the first day of hiking went okay. My legs were sore, but my feet didn't hurt, but I still wasn't sure. Then the second day we hiked 5 mile over boulders and dry and wet streams. I haven't been that sure-footed since I was a kid(I am 56). Then at the end of the hike my feet actually felt good. I haven't been without foot pain for 20 years. So when we got home I decided to give them another test. I wore them to my volunteer job working in a soup kitchen 7 hours on concrete floors on my feet the whole time. WOW. I have worked there for 2 years and this is the first day I haven't had sore feet. Who would have thought I needed less shoe for more comfort. I certainly wouldn't have. Podiatrists need to get this message.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2015
I bought two of these shoes because the first one was the wrong size. I normally wear a 7.5 But that was too small for me so I got the 8 and that fit perfect. I do wear thin socks with them even though they can be worn without. I just don't like the feel of shoes without socks. I have worn them on short jogs, treadmill runs and a long 15 mile hike up and down mountain terrain. They have been wonderful in every circumstance. They are definitely not impermeable, my feet were black with dirt after that long hike, but I had no foot pain. I would suggest giving yourself time to get used to them if you are used to a heavier running shoe. At first I felt like my tendons were stretching just a bit too far, but by going slow at first my feet and legs adapted and I have never been happier with a running shoe. I think I would find it difficult to go back to a 'regular' running shoe. You do feel the ground a lot more in this type of shoe but I have not only grown accustomed, I actually like feeling more connected to the ground when I run.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2013
These shoes took me two weeks to break in and get used to and now that they are, they fit me like a glove and I can run forever in them.

They are really flush with your foot, and thats the point of barefoot running. If this idea is not appealing to you then you wont like these shoes... my boyfriend would hate the style, but for me they are perfect. I have a high arch and these support them well.

It wasnt that the shoe was uncomfortable for the first two weeks, but its presence was well known, almost to the point of it being annoying. when I broke them in and ran a few times they loosened and I got used to the feel and now they are one with my foot.

I run on treadmills or on the street and these work well for both. They stay with my feet and are light and sturdy and I love the hug.
There is a tag that says that they will add strain to your ankle and calf, for a benefit and ease into them. I dont know about that as I didnt notice any additional strain, they would make excellent trail shoes as they let you feel the movement of your foot and therefor are great for mixed levels of earth pavement.

I think they are kind of cute. they make my foot look a little smaller but also cute... my boyfriend comments now and then how much he likes the way I look in them.
we have a rock wall at our gym and these are so perfect for that activity! light, flexible and close fitting

I love love love them!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2013
I like the shoes. They are very light, but they run a little small. I normally wear a women's 11. I'm hoping they will stretch out a little. I would have possibly ordered only a half a size larger.
22 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2013
4th pair of minimalist shoes in 2 years. Why do they all run small? Some of the new minimalist shoes look like clown shoes, but not these. Not sure why the pic shows the toes curled up, but they fit like snug petite-looking sporty shoes (always my goal with size 9-10 feet). I like to wear them to work on casual day (at the high school), and also to take walks in or work out at the gym, and these look good for all three types of locations. There was some rubbing/chafing at first from some inner lining or seam, so after an hour I let my bare feet rest. The next day I wore "liner" socks with them for 3 hours, and by the 3rd day, could wear them barefoot for 4, but that might be because I have soft, pedicured, pampered feet that need to toughen up for summer fun on the beach. On the fourth day, I woke up with leg cramps, since these seem to have more of a negative heel than my 5-finger Vibrams or my Merrell Pace Gloves.
If it's your first time wearing minimalist shoes, please google some instructions, or read a "barefoot running" book. Main things to remember: wear them only for an hour or two the first time, and stay close to home (or close to a comfy pair of broken-in shoes), and add an hour each day until you're sure your body can handle it. All minimalist shoes change your gait, stance, and muscles used. You really have to re-teach your body how to walk "barefoot." Expect sore feet muscles, calf muscles, and up at first. Don't be afraid! I LOVE my barefoot shoes, especially these, and I haven't had plantar fasciitis return since I started wearing them. I feel like my feet and leg muscles are more naturally tuned, not atrophied from how cushioned athletic shoes fit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2014
I bought these primarily because I wanted a minimalist shoe that I could just slip on. I've jogged in FiveFingers and the toe pockets are uncomfortable for me (too long), Merrell pace gloves (a little on the narrow side), and several VivoBarefoot models (love em). I transitioned to minimalist zero drop shoes 3 years ago and haven't looked back. I was a little iffy on these due to the 4mm drop, but right out of the box, these were comfortable and fit like a glove (I did order a half size up based on the other reviews and highly recommend it - had I ordered my usual size, they would have been too small). Took them out for a short jog last night (on pavement - haven't taken them on a trail) and they didn't affect my gait at all despite the drop. No break in period, no issues with width (they're about the same width as my VivoBarefoots), and performed beautifully. If you're looking for a comfortable minimalist shoe that performs well and doesn't require stopping every couple of miles to re-tie laces, you've found it. HIGHLY recommend!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2012
Love love love these shoessss!!! I ordered a half size up since I like to wear thicker socks, especially in winter, for outdoor running. They fit like a glove on my foot and are super comfy right on the first wear. My foot went numb a mile into my first run and then I figured out that I was lacing too tightly. They are so very snug even without lacing! after I figured out how tight I need them to be, they've been perfect. I have been training for a few months to learn the mid-foot strike and these sneakers are just perfect for this. Just a warning - at the time I bought these, the item was marked as "Blue" but the photo shows a different color (pink). The shoe that arrived with my order was Blue (which I wanted). A little confusing! But my order arrived on time, very satisfactory purchase.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here