Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Casual Friday Style nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Only: $44.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon marchmadness marchmadness marchmadness  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment. Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18PP_gno

on February 24, 2015
I am mostly in love with these shoes....Mostly....I feel I should start with a wee bit of warning before going on to what I like.
After the second day of wearing them I got a blister sore on my toe from the right shoe.
The thing is...I am ok with that because the day I got the blister I was doing more vigorous walking over long distances on cement flooring than I will usually be doing. We had to catch a flight and were running a bit late so we were doing that annoying half run/walk across the airport to get to our gate. By the end of the day I had a blister on my toe.
It's from where the shoe flexed as I stepped and because of the thin breathable mesh over the toe the leather bit just below the laces would press down in to my toe. Now in all fairness I was wearing quite thin socks, when I wore thicker socks I didn't feel it as much.
Everything else I LOVE. And when walking more normally it's not noticable. I thought it funny it only happened on my right foot...anyways just be aware that's a possibility.
What I love:
The foot bed, it's fairly flat, yaaaaaaaay! I don't care for pronounced arch support, I don't need it it and it usually makes a shoe uncomfortable. This foot bed was just right!
The shoe feels lightweight but with the substantial grippy soles I felt quite protected.
We live in the desert and even stepping out in the yard is a hazard of sharp rocks and thorns.
Another note I just remembered, it rained very lightly the other morning and I was a little surprised at how slippy the soles felt on the linoleum in the house....I don't know if that was a fluke but until I Know for sure I'll be careful on wet floors.
I wanted these shoes so I'd have something substantial enough for desert walking, rocky trails, cactus prickle strewn paths as well as every day wear. These will do the trick I think.
I'll be sure to wear thick socks for longer hikes or any time I'll be doing the crazy airport quick walk.
The price was great too.
Oh and I don't think should matter but I'm a female and purchased the men's woodburn shoe because the women's version had too narrow of a toe box area. I don't think that would make any big difference in regards to getting blisters etc, after all a foot is a foot. The fit feels right.
I'll be using these shoes as every day casual sneaker like wear.
I'll do a long term use update in the future. Hopefully I'll be able to report that the blister was a fluke.
review imagereview image
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
I took a chance buying these online. I have owned quite a few pairs of Columbia shoes for walking, weekends, and other adventures. One pair I had was so comfortable I felt sad letting them go. I hoped to replace those with this pair, but alas these shoes mostly see the floor of my closet these days. The first long walk I took with them, left me with a crazy blister and sore toe from wear they rubbed even with thick socks on. On the bright side, they feel very light, but the connection points of sole to shoe seem to be pretty weak. I felt like if I shifted my weight on the sides of the shoes I could almost rip the shoe away from the sole. Take my advice and try these on in a store.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 11, 2017
This is an excellent shoe and has a great price. I bought a pair for a several week adventure in Peru. The only modification I made was to buy a set of silicon inserts ($4) for the heel and midfoot, but that's my preference in how I like a shoe to feel. To break in the shoes, I wore them on and off for about one month before leaving. In Peru I wore them around Lima for a week, then hiked in the Sacred Valley for a week to acclimate to the altitude. I then wore this pair and did the classic Inca Trail hike for 4 days, and I returned for an extra day to climb the "big" mountain overlooking Machu Picchu. After that I wore them around Cusco for a week exploring various sites. I found them excellent for both street use and trail use, and the temperature varied from hot, to some snow flurries (one day on the trail over 10,000 ft), with the shoes performing way beyond my expectations. I have owned much more expensive shoes that did not feel as good, or hold up as well, as these. Definitely worth the very reasonable cost.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 19, 2015
I originally bought these shoes for hiking the trails near my house. After receiving them, I was blown away on how comfortable they are, and I now wear them on a daily basis. The construction of the shoe is solid. I've had these shoes for several months now with almost daily use and they are just as good as the day I got them. I can wear these shoes all day comfortably for casual activity. I would not recommend using them for running. Since this is a shoe and not a boot, it is fine for short trails, but I would not recommend them for long hikes or backpacking; they just don't have the ankle support needed for those activities.

The only Con I have for the product is that the laces like to come loose often. This isn't too much of an issue because I can just tie a double knot.

I would recommend these shoes to anyone that is looking for a casual hiking or walking shoe.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 15, 2016
I give this shoe 4 stars because everything is perfect excepts 1 thing. I work in Afghanistan pulling 12 hours per day. I wear them daily and I walk on rocks everywhere. The only problem is that they smell really bad after 1 week of wearing. I have wore them for some time now but the soles stink very bad. I wash my feet 2 times per 12 hour shift with strong soap to prevent my feet from sweating/stinking but the soles still stunk. I take care of my feet because I have learned my lesson throughout the 5 years of contracting so it's not me that just smells but the shoe sole. Once I ordered shoe soles, the odor problem no longer exist. I would recommend this shoe for the fit, comfort, and durability but buy-your-own soles because your feet will stink badly. The soles are very thin so that may be the reason why
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 12, 2015
Bought these at the end of February 2015 and by May there was a hole in the fabric above my big toe. I walk 4 miles about twice a week. 1 mile other days. I'm 6' weigh 180. There's no good reason for a hiking shoe to have such a short life. No holes in my socks just the fabric used for the hiking shoe. The rest of the shoe is in good shape.
Note 9.22.2015: I've been ordering the same shoe, same size for many years because they were a good fit all around. This is the first pair to give me trouble.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 22, 2016
I bought these shoes six months ago. I've worked much of those six months at a rocky summer camp, where nothing is level. I love the fit, the looks and the grip of the soles. However, this pair and another I bought about the same time, have given up the sewing that attaches the toe to the body of the shoe. The thread simply pulls out and the toe starts separating. For me, this is a huge disappointment. I really expect work shoes to last at least a year. I know I work in a hostile environment, but I'm really not dragging the toes through the rocks. Too bad. I would have bought a couple more pairs, but Columbia simply has to improve their construction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 17, 2015
I wear these shoes all day, up and about. I've done some hiking with them too. For long hikes, I probably would have gone half a size up, since they feel just a tad too small around the toes. Especially, if you want to wear sock liners too. But other than that, they fit well, and they have a nice arch support.

My feet or ankles don't feel tired after wearing these all day, and I do walk a lot during the day.

The color is a little ho-hum though, boring. But that's not a huge deal for me. The missing star is for the sizing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 14, 2014
I returned these shoes for a half size larger than I normally take. They were a little tight in toe area. I've only worn the replacement shoes for a short time, but they feel great. Easy walking.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 24, 2015
I changed my mind. What started out as a fine-fitting, comfortable lightweight hiking shoe has (in one month's time) turned into a cheap-ass shoe that is starting to fall apart. I wear them probably 5 or 6 days a week, for ONLY part of the day, and we take light daily hikes. The top edge of the foot cushion is wearing through – and it doesn't rub against anything! The inner heel area in both shoes is peeling off thin layers of fabric. And today I even noticed the nylon top of the big toe on each shoe is developing holes! DO NOT believe that these are durable shoes! They may look and fit good but they WILL NOT LAST. AVOID !!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 13 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here