Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 111 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 119 reviews
on February 19, 2014
I was elated to get my storm glass thinking that captains of the high seas used something similar to this to predict the weather. Make sure you research this item. You have to calibrate it when you get it by running the glass under warm water until the liquid it contains becomes completely clear. Also, a warning came with it that read if the glass was to break, the liquid within is harmful and it had specific instructions on how to clean it up. I would not purchase this item for children.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2016
Nice little instrument looks like the picture and fun to have.
I got this as a curiosity, but also to confirm when aches and pains might be due to weather conditions!
At first, I kept it near the center of the house where I happened to have a place for it. It didn't respond to conditions even near a glass liquid barometer that did. So I moved it to a spot nearer to a window which is the proper use of this item. Now it responds quick. I enjoy comparing the crystal formations to the descriptions written on the glass. It is right on target.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2016
I think it works. I know when it's cold it works fast. I ran under hot water and poof clear. Stuck outside and poof crystals. Does nothing inside so I thought I would burn the house down to see if it's clear....
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2012
I bought this as a gift for my parents. Other storm glasses I found were expensive and these were a good price. The size is nice and the quality is good. My parents have enjoyed it and I may order one for myself in the future. It does come with a breakdown as to how to read it.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2017
I love this little thing. It sits next to my desk at home. It is so interesting to watch. Mine works just like it is suppose to. When I got it I ran warm water over it for a few minutes then dried it and put it on the shelf. It took a couple of days then it started working. Tonight it has formed long crystals at the top and also at the bottom showing snow in the future. Our forecast for Friday-Snow. I am going to order a couple more. Family and friends want one as well. I also want a second one for myself to put on my desk at my office.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2016
I've had it for less than a week but every morning there are large crystals floating at the top indicating snow?? or thunderstorms?? but so far it's been clear and sunny all of those days. On the day that it was very windy the glass did not have any threads floating to indicate that so at this point I'm thinking that this doesn't work. I ordered a second one as a gift and I'll give this one a little more time but if it doesn't start to do what it is supposed to I'll be returning both of them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2016
I bought two of these and neither worked. At first there were subtle changes in the crystals, but not like described on the product; and shortly thereafter, they were completely unresponsive. Given that I got two and they were both completely useless after a few days, I would strongly recommend not buying this product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2013
I bought this and read the directions and it didn't work for over a month. Finally, I looked at it one day that we were supposed to be getting a huge snow storm and I noticed the crystals changing and moving. It was very interesting to watch. I checked it again over the next few weeks and now it just looks like a clear tube with water. The crystals seem to have disappeared. For me, I feel this was a waste of money. It only seemed to work for one snow storm and we had plenty this past winter. Would not recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2016
I purchased this item as a gift several years ago for my father. Pretty sure it was his favorite gift that year. He keeps it in a glass lantern on the porch. It's quite interesting to see how eerily accurate it is. I don't understand it, but it's fun a heck and a great gift for any retiree.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2014
It was delivered in great shape but instructions in box were safety (which is good).But, no instructions how to understand what glass is representing. It was supposed to be a present for an 11 year old because he likes to know whether or not to expect snow. I will keep for myself and see if I can figure out weather calls!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse