Industrial Deals Rebound Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon howardsend howardsend howardsend  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Start your Baby Registry



on October 23, 2012
I am a neutral runner who averages only about 10 to 15 miles a week. For years I ran on the Asics Kinsei and loved them, except for the price. I eventually tried the Brooks Ghost, a less supportive shoe that was quick and had a lot of go! The cushioning lacked immensely though for longer runs but I kept them around as a cross training shoe for speed and strength drills.

As my Kinsei were seeing their last days and my feet tired of running in the Ghosts (my shins were yelling at me in these shoes), I was back in the market for a shoe that had the quality of the Kinsei, the speed of the Ghosts and a price range that was actually manageable. After a a few weeks of going through Runners World, researching my running style and impact, and eventually looking at the points on my foot that apply the most pressure, I came across the Asics Nimbus 14. I had tried the 13 and 12s during the previous years but was just not jazzed by the feel and responsiveness.

The improvements in the 14s made it feel like a whole new shoe though! The comfort and support are just right for my neutral running style. I have a "normal" arch and run mostly on my mid and forefoot. In some reports, I saw something about a slower responsiveness due to the cushioning in the shoe, but I felt like they had plenty of get up and go when I pushed the run. The shoe is also well ventilated and prevents any overheating while on my 3-4 miles runs. I usually integrated hills with my workouts and the shoe had plenty of grip and stability for the ups and downs as well.

The best part of the shoe is that it provides you (me) with one of the best feelings, not worrying about what's on my feet. I can just run and focus on MY workout. They gave me this feeling within day one. I had to slightly, very slightly, break them in, but they felt plush from the go. I definitely recommend going to your local running store that has a treadmill, try them out for yourself, and see what I am talking about. I am not an avid runner, but these shoes will bring you that much closer to wanting to be one!

Plus, they come in neon yellow, what's more awesome than that!?

These are highly recommended and will most likely buy a couple more pairs for the years to come!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 17, 2013
Why we prefer Asics Nimbus....
Excellent support/comfortable for over-pronating feet!
Affordable compared to other running shoes
Podiatrist recommended

Brief History-
My husband has always had feet problems which caused back pain issues as well. He sees a podiatrist to get custom insoles made. We exercise around 3-4 days a week (Walking, minimum running, weight lifting). He has always been a very active person. Around 3 years ago, I introduced him to Asics Nimbus shoes and he has not bought a different brand of active shoes since. He wears them around 4-5 days a week so we have to replace them every year. We request Asics running shoes as Christmas presents every year!

Uses of the Nimbus- If you want the best running shoe- go with Nimbus or Kayano. I have trained and run 4 half-marathons in the Women's Kayano Running shoe and wouldn't have worn anything different. I chose Kayano because I have a high arch and the Kayano provides extra gel and arch support. My husband, on the other hand, is not an avid runner. He prefers the Nimbus shoes for light running, walking, weight lifting, and everyday activities. If you have feet issues, you definitely need insoles for these shoes if you plan to be very active or train for races!

Price Comparison- In my opinion, there is not much variation between the Numbers 13, 14, and 15 Nimbus except for the colors and outward appearance of the shoe. I prefer to buy last years model because you save $$. Amazon is definitely the lowest cost when compared to shoe stores or any other online store.

Choosing Color- Last year, we purchased the Blue/White color. They were too white in my husband's opinion, because he doesn't like anything "flashy." Also, the more white material there is, the more dirt that shows.
This year we chose Lightening Blue/Black this year because it has darker colors and less white material. It's definitely the perfect color and will stay way cleaner than the Nimbus 13 Blue/White.

Sizing- Good or Bad fit ?
My advice for buying any shoe online: Go to a store, try a pair on, and walk around in them! Some people complain about their shoes not fitting right after buying them online. It just makes sense in my head to try a pair on before you buy them even if you feel lazy about it. You will save yourself having a bad experience. Many people complain about this model being too narrow in the toe area. There is a Wide size available- so if you have narrow feet, that may be a better option. I ALWAYS buy a 1/2 size bigger in running shoes because it gives more room in the toe area. I have trained in bad, small shoes before and it left bloody toes and blisters.

If you want good, solid running/active shoes - go with Asics Nimbus or Kayano! You will love running and feel like a runner who can go on forever! It's nice to not worry about your feet hurting when training and pushing your body to new limits!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 11, 2014
This is really a well-designed running shoe providing comfort for any type of distance run on pavement/asphalt.

I've found most running shoes are designed for average height light-weight runners. I'm 6'4". My weight varies between 225 lbs. - 250 lbs through the year (depending on my current fitness goals and diet). I have a neutral gait. I asked my local running store which shoes would be appropriate for a heavier person with a neutral running style while providing decent cushioning. They pointed me right to these shoes.

Fortunately, they sell these on Amazon, so I'm able to save some serious money over the specialty-store pricing. I'm also the kind who doesn't mind saving even more by buying the ugliest color combos on running shoes. The markup on these must be such that they are able to charge 30-40% less on unpopular color combos and still make money.

I'm more of a 5K-a-day type than a marathoner, but I'll run the occasional 10K and enjoy a year half-marathon and occasional 10-14 mile runs in the mornings on weekends during the summer.

I used to wear other brands comparable models (Brooks, Mizuno, Nike, etc...), but would feel a persistent pain here or there in hips, IT band, ankles, knees, back (depended on the shoes). With these shoes, I've had no strange pains anywhere. It's amazing how a really well-designed shoe, such as the Gel-Nimbus, can perform. I've had similar success with the Gel-Cumulus. The Gel-Nimbus shoe, however, seems to provide a little more room in the toe box and a little more cushioning than the Gel-Cumulus which makes it more comfortable when I do decide to go on longer runs.

I'm sure these would be a good shoes for runners of all sizes, but for most of us, you just have to keep trying different shoes until you get the right type of shoe. If you experience any pains while you run and they aren't due to an injury of some type, keep trying different shoes. With the way they make shoes these days (primarily out of some form of plastic), there really is no 'break-in' period for shoes the way there used to be, so if you get blisters with any shoes right away, I recommend you take them back.

It's just a very comfortable shoe all-around. I have been running in the Gel-Nimbus and the Gel-Cumulus for over 5 years with success. It's amazing how much more enjoyable running is when you find the right shoes. These fit true to size. Definitely try them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 25, 2014
Are absolutely perfect (for me, of course). They're like running on jello, except without the invariable shakiness and unsure footing. I'm 6'1, 220 pounds, running around ten miles a week on top of lifting regularly. These shoes save my knees and ankles from any kind of pain. I used to run in Brooks Beasts, they did the job pretty well, but they weighed a ton. These Nimbus 14s are far lighter, and far more flexible while still being cushy enough to soften my rather heavy footfalls. I don't over or under pronate, have normal-to-low arches, and a heel-to-midfoot ish strike depending on how tired I am haha. I had foot surgery a couple years ago, and they had to reattach a tendon. I had terrible shin splints in just about every shoe except the Beasts and these. I'm now getting to be able to try different shoes, but I keep coming back to these as they are just the very best I've found so far.

For a couple cons, if you can call them that, they're still kind of pricey for being the previous year's model. They can get warm on top due to the super cushy upper they put in them, but that is a tradeoff for what really is one of the more comfortable shoes I've ever worn. Toe box gives me enough room in a standard width, though I had to get the Beasts in wide. Same with the midfoot. I love the neon yellow ones, those I have been running in for 8 months or so. I needed some to wear in uniform (military), so I bought the black with lime accents as they are just conservative enough to get by. Of course, no sooner do they arrive than the regulation for that changes, and now any shoes are allowed. Oh well, these look pretty cool too, just not as eye-catching as the yellow ones. So far I've not had any problems with durability, the yellows have put up with a lot over the last 8 months and barely even show wear. In short, I can't say enough about these shoes. Love them to death.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 26, 2013
For me, they fit great and true to size. I'm neutral gate with a typical wear pattern that is just about perfect. I just need the padding, or I should say I like the padding.

The only thing I wish they could make better is the tread compound. I wish Asics would actually take a year off from fiddling with an already great functioning shoe and find a tread compound that I don't blow through in only a few months due to the hills around my house. They are nothing particularly ridiculous to the grade or anything. However, after only a few months the shoe will still be fine, but I will wear through to the foam in no time at all if I run any hills.
thats my only gripe.

Lastly, I tried some Spenco walker/runner inner soles for maybe some extra longevity in the padding of the sole. Big mistake!

All of a sudden I had bad plantar fasciitis. I persevered for a few weeks and it got worse. I put the old innersoles back in and within a matter of a week I was feeling significantly better. 2 weeks and I was pain free again. I'm guessing that the innersole wasn't allowing my metacarpals to expand properly, or, maybe the padding itself was pushing on the fascia and connective tissue at the calcaneus irritating it. I'm just guessing though; that's what it felt like.
Now if your shoes were really beat down, then maybe try them, but not when they are new.

The innersoles may look to be crap, but it appears they work with the mechanics of the shoe more than adequately.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 31, 2013
I love Asics. I've been running for a few years now, averaging 20-25 miles per week. I started when I was deployed to Africa and there wasn't much to do in the off hours. So it was either hit the gym, swim, or run...I did all three. But running was the one thing that stuck once I got back CONUS.

The first pair of real running shoes I bought while deployed was Asics Gel Kayano 17 (in late 2011). I fell in love with those shoes, so much so that I bought a second pair of the same shortly after. I beat up both pairs pretty bad on the dirt trails out there, so I went to a speciality running store to get "fitted" for a new pair. There were some new shoes out on the market that I wanted to try since I was sticking with running pretty seriously. Turns out that I was perfectly suited for the Kayanos...or rather they were perfectly suited for my running style. It was just coincidence that I picked up a pair early in my running career.

Fast forward to a few weeks ago. I look around at different reviews and did not like many of the new lines of running shoes that had come out. I automatically went to the Kayano 19s and almost ordered a pair of those, but decided to go with the Nimbus 14s because I honestly preferred the color scheme of the Nimbuses over all the other new, flashy shoes that are dominating the market now.

And while I won't say that buying the Nimbuses was a mistake, I can definitely tell the diference between them and my Kayanos. The Nimbus fits just a tad smaller (although I buy my shoes a half size larger to account for long distance swelling), and my feet sit a little higher inside the Nimbus when compared to the Kayano (which basically hugs my feed from mid-ankle down...and I love it!).

I will return to the Kayano for my next pair. I cannot bad-mouth the Nimbus...but in the end, it's just not the Kayano.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 30, 2013
The Gel Nimbus continues to be my favorite running shoe, although after recent back surgery, my running days are behind me. I now walk at a 15 minute pace for 4-5 miles each day, and continue to use the Nimbus. There is excellent cushioning in both the sole and heel making for a very comfortable walk. I was originally drawn to Asics as it mimics the shape of my foot, which is a wide toe box and a narrow ankle.

I've been using this shoe for over 4 years, including when I was running 4-5 miles a day, and never experienced any leg, knee or hip pain from it. (For the record, my back surgery was for sciatica, not a running-related injury.) When I was running, I got about 6 months from a pair. Walking I get about 12 months before they need to be replaced.

Unless Asics screws it up in the future, I'd highly recommend this shoe for anyone looking for a lightweight running shoe that provides superior cushioning.

One last note: I'm normally a size 9½ shoe, but in an Asics, I take a 10½. Based on the reviews that I've read and my own experience, you'll need to order this shoe 1 full size larger than your street shoe size. From my experience, width sizes run normal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 29, 2015
I've been running in Nimbus for over a decade now. By far the best cushion distance running shoe for a mid-foot striking runner with little to no pronation. IE - great comfort and support but you may need something more if you don't have an ideal foot strike. You should always buy running shoes from a reputable running shoe store in your area that can analyze your running form and how you have been wearing down your shoes (bring in your old running shoes) and let you test out a few pairs by running around the block or something. AFTER settling on a pair for a couple years, THEN you can buy that same pair from a reputable online source like Amazon. This is advice from an ex D-1 college runner and high school cross country coach.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 30, 2013
I am really around a size 12-13. However, i have problems with buying shoes with narrow toe boxes, even when they are wide width. I ordered these in both size 14 4E and size 15 4E. I run with 3 inserts. With the inserts and the 4E width i do not end up having pain in my metatarsal area in my right foot. I wear the 14 4E for distance running and even for interval work on grass. I run 95% of the time on grass - i avoid pavement to protect my knees. I run over 30 miles a week and the Nimbus with 3 inserts keep me so far from getting foot pain - in order to get in 3 inserts (and also i wear ankle socks and then crew socks over them), i must order 2 or more sizes larger than my normal foot size. Although i prefer running in the lightest and snuggest shoes when running intervals, these shoes are not bad for intervals on grass. I am now wearing the 15 4E around the house and sometimes out with usually only 2 inserts - so this gives me comfort and room for my toes. The color scheme is nice. I thought they were going to be more purple, but actually the stripes are a bluish color. I bought the 14 size, liked them and then purchased size 15, both 4E. I would prefer to order a 6E but they are not available in these shoes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 23, 2013
I logged just shy of 400 miles on my previous pair of ASICS Numbus 14s, and plan on doing the same to this pair. If they're still available, I'll probably just continue to buy this shoe... They're that good!

I think it's hard to rate shoes because everyone runs different, has different shaped feet, prefers different fits, etc.. But I'll try anyway. First, about me: I'm 29, 6'1", 185 lbs, with a high arch, pretty neutral pronation, and somewhere between a mid-foot to heel striker. I run anywhere between 20-110 miles per month with an average of about 40-50 miles in a month. I run maybe 10 races per year, prefer 5Ks, but also run 10Ks, half marathons, and various other runs of similar distances. I run almost exclusively outside on pavement. Obviously it varies, but my average pace over the year is about 7:40 min/mile. 5K race pace is about 6:15-6:30.

Now for the shoe: The shoe is super comfortable, never feels like it needs to be broken in, reduces impact from all of the pavement running with great padding, doesn't feel clunky or big from the padding, feels very light, has cool designs and colors, supports my arch well, doesn't rub my heels or anywhere else... If you're anything like me, this is the shoe for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here