Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7, starting at $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 110 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 120 reviews
on January 22, 2015
I've owned many knife sharpening devices - stones, Spyder, electric Chefs Choice (the underlying manufacturer of this unit), and others - but none have come even close to how sharp this makes your knives. I tried this on cheap older knives first with great results. I then used this on my best knives with equally impressive results. Your knives will literally be razor sharp after using this sharpener. After sharpening one of my knives, I tried to check for burs. With the blade facing away from me and my finger on the body of the knife, I ran my finger across and away from the knife edge. I still cut my finger a little. My knives have never been this sharp even after professional sharpening.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2015
Was looking for an electric sharpener to fix-up all my dull kitchen knives, and originally purchased the "Cuisavour's Electric Knife Sharpener Deluxe Kit" for $26.95. What a mistake! It immediately put multiple large divot's in my large kitchen knife. Returned it and went for the best I could find, which was the Wusthof 2933. Wow! I love it. It took all the guess work out of sharpening. I was able to remove the divot left by the Cuisavour model within a minute or two. The motor is strong, and doesn't slow during use. The knife-guides are accurate and the 3 levels of sharpening fantastic. Within 20 minutes, I had sharpened all the knives in my kitchen (approximately 20). I had forgotten how nice it is to have a razor-sharp knife! Watch out tomatoes!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2014
Very nice sharpener. On the positive side very easy to use. Sturdy. I just used an old fish filet knife as my first test knife. No problem at all. Just placed it in and down and pulled it backwards all at the same time. Then I did my entire set of Westhofs. I don't know what any fuss from other reviewers is about on using the thing. Be careful about checking the edge after you run the knife thru like they recommend or you will be sorry while running for the bandaids. They are now just like they came out of the box, factory sharp again. On the down side, yes the thing is spendy, but you can't take your money with you so what the heck!
Glad we bought it!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2014
I started a Wusthof Classic set a few months back and got this on May 1st, 2014 to maintain the PTEC edges. This is a great knife sharpener if your only concern is to keep razor sharp edges on your knives, I fall into this category. Lets just say I have some small bald patches where the hair on my arm was effortlessly shaved right off with only a stroke or two at the right angle after using this sharpener. (I should probably stop testing the edge like this, my arm hair does not grow back fast)

That being said there is ONE MAJOR TURNOFF. To those who want to keep their knives looking pristine and shiny, this sharpener WILL cause small lateral scratches on both sides of ANY knife you put through it. My $160 10 inch chefs knife has 20-30 scratches running along the entire side of it. DO NOT FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS IT COMES WITH. If you do follow the directions and draw the knife flat through the sharpener, it will scratch the sides the worst. I found out after trial and error with my mothers worn down Henckels Classic set (I didn't want to cause more cosmetic damage to the new Wusthof's) that the knife must be drawn back so it engages the grinding wheels but the handle is kept at a steep angle well below the horizontal grinding plane. This minimizes the contact of the sides of the knives with the grinding wheels and minimizes scratching. Remember to always start near the handle and draw towards you so the tip is the last part to touch the grinding plane.

I really only use the stropping wheels to maintain the edge. Maybe once every other week I run the knives through stage two.

My mother's Henckels knives needed to be ground in stage 1, 2, and 3 and I must say the magnetic insert to catch the metal filings is ingenious. Too bad they didn't apply some felt in the areas where the knife drags through the plastic to further minimize scratches.

If your goal is to keep your pricey knives scratch free and looking brand new THIS IS NOT THE SHARPENER FOR YOU.

I understand that my knives are essentially tools for the kitchen. Tools will take a beating from time to time. I am not so concerned with the look but rather the function, and when it comes to function I have never used sharper, better knives. This sharpener barely made the 4 star rating.
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2014
I was looking at the Chef's Choice sharpeners and it bought this because I have a matching set of Grand Prix Wusthof knives and because I intended to keep this on my counter and I thought it looked better than the Chef's Choice models. Functionally, the PEtec edge is 14 degrees per side and the Chef's Choice sharpeners sharpen to 15 and/or 20 degrees. I'm not sure if I can tell the difference, but the sharpener gave new life to my 8" Chef's and 7.5" Santoku, such that they now can cut strips off of a piece of paper like when they were new.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2017
I cannot hand sharpen a knife on a wet stone. I just don't have the skill. And It has been said that is the only way to get a razor sharp knife is to have it done by a professional. This sharpener proves that is not true. I own several Wusthof knives and could never get them quite sharp enough. This sharpener puts a razor sharp edge on the knife that can pass whatever test you use. The knives will slice paper and shave the hair off your arm. I have used it on several non Wusthof knives and all of them are razor sharp
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2017
This electric sharpener is indespensible for any owners of the Wusthof brand knife. The manual sharpeners are just okay. This electric sharpener is an amazingly fast and sure-proof way of maintaining that sharp edge on all your knives. This item is so easy to utilize that sharpening my knives has become a pleasant chore instead of a necessary burden....well worth this price..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2015
I sharpened our set of Members Mark (Sam's Club) knives with this and was very impressed with how sharp they were. Watched the video on YouTube of the guy sharpening and then slicing little strips of paper as fast as he could go. Tried it myself (not as fast), but these fairly old, not-so-high quality knives slit right through like a razor. Made carving the Thanksgiving turkey much easier this year. And I had forgotten how sharp our steak knives could be. Very happy with this purchase!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2017
All expected and more. I have used the hand held sharpener for years and recently purchased a grinder to attempt to sharpen my old standard kitchen knifes. They do not compare to the Wusthof Petec Electric Sharpener. Following the instructions, on the initial sharpening of my knifes, I pulled the knifes through 20 to 30 times as they have not been properly sharpened in the 10 years I owned them. Very noticeable difference in the performance of the knife as they actually were cutting in lieu of sawing through items. Highly recommend the product to others. Expensive, but the value is their
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2014
This product does the job it proclaims.
I have tried other sharpening equipment and the Wusthof 3 Stage Electric Knife Sharpener is by far, the easiest and the best.
I've sharpened Wusthof knives as well as several other brands with a full range of hardnesses, all with equal success.
Keep the knife bottomed out in the slot, and follow the directions. It works as described.
The sharpened product is sharp enough to shave the hairs on you arm - it worked for me.
A great bargain for the price.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse