BCA Month Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now FFII_gno



on July 26, 2013
I'm going to break this review down in segments so bear with me.

~Beginners/Non Techies beware: This is an IT Professional product. I'm not sure this would be easy for someone who isn't "Techy" to setup. You must install the UniFi software on a computer to "provision" the Access Point. Once you setup the software with which SSID's Pass codes, etc.. etc.. you bring the AP into the fold by adopting it. It is a very different concept from just logging into the AP and setting it up directly like mass consumer APs. Once adopted you can make all the changes necessary. There is no easy mode wizard like most consumer grade APs.

~Price: I have installed hundreds of Access Points for the home as well as office environment. The real benefit of this product is the price. Considering what you get (the UniFi software, PoE Adapter, Power (range), and Aesthetics) its a great buy. They actually describe it as "disruptive pricing" compared to similar AP's for IT Professionals. Similar functioning AP's for the IT Industry usually run $250 to $400 dollars (think Ruckus or high end Cisco) but do benefit from dedicated hardware controlling (this is software controlled).

~Aesthetics: This thing looks great, it comes with a mounting bracket and you can install it on a ceiling or wall. At my home I decided to install it on the ceiling. You can turn off the green ring of light using the software, but my wife and I decided to leave it on because of how attractive it looks. It will be flush with the wall/ceiling if you mount it and there will be no unattractive wires if you run the network cable through the wall/ceiling. Using the PoE brick, you can install that near your switch/router and simply run 1 network cable to this thing. It will power it and provide data simplifying placement (no required electrical outlet).

~Range: This particular model is rated for about 400ft. You always have to keep in mind the surroundings of where it will be placed. Wireless signals degrade quickly through a lot of walls, insulation, brick, especially metal buildings. I have found that the best way to get the most range is mount it high and in clear view of your most important areas. Our house is 1500 sq ft and I have WiFi inside and outside of my house both front and back yard. Using the software and the schematics of my home I mounted it directly in the center of the house. If you are looking for more range, consider buying the UAP-LR (LR for Long Range) which has a higher power amplifier and is rated for 600ft.

~Software: The UniFi Controller software is definitely the secret weapon Ubiquiti has for making these so inexpensive. It comes with a CD and the software is very small in terms of footprint. It is Non-Dedicated which means you only need to use it to setup the AP then the access point will operate autonomously. This means the computer running the software does not have to be on all the time for the AP to work. If you are like me and enjoy statistics the software will track the devices connected, how much data they are using UP/DOWN and allows you to see Pie Charts/Graphs. The list goes on and on for what it all does but here are some key things I like about it: Block Devices (with a click), Force devices to reconnect, Guest Network, Up to 4 SSID's per AP, One SSID for Several AP's with device hand off.

~Closing: This is an IT / Office WiFi grade device not made for average home users. If you are confident you can set it up without much grief or are technical I couldn't recommend this enough. It really is the ultimate Access Point. Also if you might need more than one Access Point, adding more and provisioning them is a snap. You can build out a massive Wireless network with one WiFi SSID and travel from one area to another around the office or home without reconnecting every time. Need more WiFi on the other side of the house or across the office? Plug a new one in let it grab an IP from DHCP then using the UniFi controller provision it into your network. Thanks for reading my review!
22 comments| 401 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 16, 2012
This is a 802.11n Wireless Access Point. It is used to provide Wifi in a home or office. The unit is aesthetically beautiful, and could easily pass for a high end smoke detector. It includes a single LED Ring light that shows whether the unit is offline or online, and can be mounted on the wall or on the ceiling. The LED can be disabled if you need to. Power is delivered to the unit using the Ethernet cable, and a Power Over Ethernet Injector is included in the box.

I've tested a number of Wifi access points and routers over the years from Linksys and Netgear, and this is, by far, my favorite. Here's why:

1. Range: The range on these things is incredible. With Linksys and Netgear APs, I'd have trouble covering my whole house. This covers my entire house on LOW POWER.

2. Adjustable Power: You can adjust the power level from 1db through 20db. A Long Range version is available that can go up to 27db.

Note: A bug in the firmware allows you to set the power output at 0 db, but this appears to cause it to default to 20db.

3. Linking: You can buy and link as many of these devices as you want. There's no limit to the number of AP's that can be linked via Ethernet cable. On top of that, each Unifi that is plugged into Ethernet can be extended by FOUR Unifis that are not plugged into an Ethernet cable, by wirelessly repeating the signal.

4. More Linking: In addition, a Unifi that is linked wirelessly can also have its ethernet port be used to extend your network via wires. Theoretically, you could plug in another Unifi to the Wired port, add it to your network and then link up to four more to that new Unifi wirelessly, and carry on the chain forever.

5. Easy to configure: The Unifi includes a disk with software, but you're better off downloading the latest version off Ubiquiti's website. That way, you'll get the latest firmware. When you run the software, it starts a web-server on your computer, and you then use your internet browser to access the configuration screen. The server will detect every Unifi that is plugged into your network and automatically configure them to operate using the same SSID and security settings, and to select the best channel for their location. You can then manually override any settings if you like on a system-wide basis or a per unit basis.

If you want to configure a Unifi for wireless linking, you have to plug it in via ethernet first and adopt it, and then unplug it from the ethernet connection and wait until it goes into Isolated Mode, and then you can link wirelessly it to one of the units that are plugged in to your ethernet connection. There's a video on Ubiquiti's web-site that explains everything. Just Google "Unifi FAQ" and you'll find the page that links to it.

6. Support for advanced features: Among other things, the Unifi software allows you to configure a Guest Network that is isolated from your own network. It can use its own network name (SSID) and its own security settings/password. Users who connect to it won't be able to connect to any of your internal devices. There is also a whole host of tools to allow you to monitor who is using your network, for how long, with how much data, etc., and you can block specific users as well.

Once you configure the above features, you can shut down the server software, and the units will continue operating without the need for a server.

You can also create a captive portal for guests, so that they have to enter a password or accept terms and conditions. However, for this to work, you have to leave the Unifi server software running on a Windows Computer 24/7.

7. Remote management: Using a special tool that comes with the server software (called the inform tool), you can set a Unifi to get its configuration information from a remote Unifi server. This will allow you to manage a fleet of Unifi units over the internet.

8. Long Range and Outdoor units available: Ubiquiti also has a Long Range version available for about $15 more, and an outdoor unit that is weatherproof for about $15 more than that. Like all other Unifi products, they can all be configured from the same User Interface, and each wired Unifi can support four Wireless Unifi's that repeat the signal.

---

The only trouble that I had setting up the unit related to Windows Firewall. The current version of the software fails to properly configure the Windows Firewall to allow the server to access the Unifi units residing on a network which you have labelled as "Private" in Windows Firewall. You can resolve this problem by going to the control panel in Window, selecting "Windows Firewall," clicking on "Allow a Program or feature through Windows Firewall," and then finding the entry for the Ubiquiti software and enabling it on a Private and Public Network. You might also need to do the same for Java.

Or you can disable Windows Firewall while you're configuring and then enable it later.
4545 comments| 490 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2014
I am very happy with this purchase. I had no trouble mounting it to a wall, connecting it to my router (using the enclosed POE adapter), and setting it up within my home network as a WiFi "hotspot".

I designed my house to have ethernet wires behind the walls, going to every room (and 2 wires to some rooms). This devices solved the problem of a section of the house too far from my wireless router. I have one more section where the signal is somewhat weak, so probably later this year I will buy one more of these.

Finally, not only are these devices unobtrusive, but their appearance is actually somewhat elegant.
review image
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2012
Barring future issues (e.g., see my EnGenius EAP9550 review), I LOVE this access point (AP)!

The hardware so far appears to be solid and then some. Coverage is insane; if you're considering the long range model instead of this one, I'd recommend that you start here first.

The software is unbelievably powerful and is clearly designed to control dozens or even hundreds of these APs - but as noted by most of the other posters, getting the software to work and then initially communicate with a new AP is challenging.

A couple notes, because some product points aren't necessarily clear from the product description:

First, this IS a standard stand-alone access point; you don't need to purchase any other hardware or software to make this thing work on your network. This is ONLY an access point; it doesn't provide routing, DNS, or DHCP functionality. This AP is for adding wireless coverage to your existing wired network.

In the box is the AP, a ceiling-mount bracket, a wall-mount bracket, a POE adapter, a power cord, a bag of screws, a quick-start guide, and a CD. It includes no user manual or network cable (bear in mind that it's intended to be installed on a wall or on a ceiling at a point to which you will presumably need to run long cable).

This AP will ONLY accept power over Ethernet (and as noted in several other reviews, is not standards-compliant); the AP presents ONLY a single RJ45 port (no power port, no USB port, ONLY a single network port). The package includes a 2-port POE adapter and a power cord; to power AND network this thing, you (A) insert a cable between the AP and the adapter, (B) insert a cable between the adapter and your network, and (C) run the power cord from the adapter to a power source (UPS, power strip, wall socket, what-have-you). I installed this thing in my living room where I have run CAT-5, but I put together the adapter and misc cabling in the basement. That is, the fact that it's not standards-compliant wasn't a huge deal for me, and it probably won't be for you either.

Next, the AP *must* initially pull its IP address via DHCP, so don't just run the network cable into your laptop or workstation and expect to be able to talk to the device.

Along those same lines, you *must* manage the AP with the UniFi Java server software; don't just launch your browser and expect to be able to talk to some magic interface on the AP.

For reasons that aren't clear to me, for the initial setup, if my laptop was pulling an IP via DHCP, it couldn't see the factory-configured AP; to get things working, I had to plug the AP into my network, let it pull its IP, and then set my laptop to a static IP on the same network. Once I did that, the configuration "just worked", even after changing my laptop adapter back to DHCP.

To configure a new AP after the initial software setup (during which I absolutely could not detect the AP), you need to start two pieces of software: the management software AND a discovery tool. The discovery tool tells the management software that there's an AP it needs to configure.

After switching to the management software, and before clicking the "Adopt" button, be sure that you click the configuration tab on the right side of the dialogue and set your network configuration correctly. The system will default to 192.168.0/24, and my first go around left me with an AP that I couldn't reach from my 192.168.3/24 network.

If the ring light is flashing, the AP is busy doing something like rebooting or reconfiguring; if it's solid orange, you *should* be able to talk to it with the management software. Once the AP is fully configured (even with the wrong network parameters), the ring light will turn green.

In summary, given the price and what this hardware is, and the flexibility of the software once it's working correctly, this is an exceptional value. Unfortunately, not everybody will have the time or the ability to work through the initial setup.

2013/01/06: Updated to clarify a couple points. I would also add - as noted in the dialogue in the comments - that as of this writing, this AP has been functioning flawlessly for me for over a month. If you have the fortitude to slog through the setup, I really can't recommend this hardware highly enough.

2015/04/27: This AP is alive and kicking. Absolutely this is the best AP I've ever owned.
1313 comments| 247 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2015
This unit was great while it worked. It was in use for approximately 22 month before it died.

Pros: Signal strength was very good. I turned off Wifi from my DLink router, and removed 3 range extenders. It was still able to cover the same area with better signal. Installing this on the ceiling on second floor really helped. Power over ethernet cable was great to run wire through the attic. With range extenders, I used to get some weird disconnect issues. But I have not had those after replace them with a single UniFi AP.

Cons: After about a year of running smoothly, I started to get occasional loss of connectivity. A quick reboot of UniFi AP normally fixed it. The problem became more frequent. Finally I had to reset it every 2 weeks. Coming up to about 2 year mark, it stopped working altogether. I was religious on firmware updates, and always checked the status on connections. Searching the support sites did not yield much help on this issue. The eventual failure appeared to be a hardware problem. I tried to contact Ubiquiti support. They only had email support. After almost a week, I received an email back telling me the unit was out of warranty, and there was nothing they could do about it.

Summary: I owned at least a dozen wireless AP over the years, this one had the best signal strength and management feature, but seemed to be lacking in hardware quality and longevity. For the price, there are much better products out there.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2016
I have owned this AP for over 3.5 years. It's ok. I mean you need to have a basic understanding of networking to configure it. It has had issues like loss of connectivity and slowness. The range is decent. It covers a 3600 square foot 2 story rectangular shaped home with few dead zones. Unfortunately it's previously mentioned issues have slowly gotten worse. I run tests of network speed every few days. I have 5 bandwidth hogs living under the same roof who don't tolerate down time. I recently upgraded our internet speed to accommodate our decision to drop cable TV. We have a 150+ MB speed connection now. I understand that this thing could never attain that speed but it can rarely even hits 20MB consistently. Right now, I only have one device connected to it. It's the phone I'm typing this review on. I moved the AP so I could troubleshoot the problem. Im sitting 5 feet away from it. I can only get 26MB out of it. The mac upstairs that is wired to the gigabit router through a switch gets 165MB. The Mac had to be moved near a wired port because the AP couldn't handle providing it consistent speed. None of the devices that rely on the AP are further than 10 feet away and through no more than 2 walls at any given time. My point is that if you want to troubleshoot and listen to complaining from family members daily get this thing. If you'd prefer a more simplified experience find it elsewhere.
review image
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2016
I'd deployed some outdoor Ubiquiti equipment on a job a few years ago overseas and was highly impressed. Knew the reputation.

Picked this up to help a small restaurant where my LUG meets have better, more stable, wifi. The router they had was a high-end Netgear, but the wifi (both 2.4 and 5.8Ghz) kept locking up the entire router requiring a reboot. This happened about once an hour. Unacceptable. Did some testing with wired connections (Powerline-based) and had everyone plug in - the router was stable and worked well. A new AP should solve our issues. Collected donations from attendees and bought this unit and a CAT6 cable thinking that mounting would be critical. We need support for about 30 devices. According to Ubiquiti's forums, 128 is the "theoretical limit", but people have 60 clients connected all the time. With 30 clients, they claim the service is more than acceptable. We shall see.

Arrived at home a few days ago. Did some testing. The UniFi s/n was always 2-3x better than my personal wifi equipment. All I'd done was connect it to a remote ethernet port in a bedroom and left it facing up.

Use the Android app to configure the AP. Couldn't have been easier. No "controller" software to load onto a computer. Wasn't needed at all. Actually, the Android app did the firmware upgrade (1-button) before letting me manage it too. This is the way that APs should be handled.

As an engineer, I want to see before and after results.
Old Stuff - I'd done testing with iperf around the house before for the old equipment. Did that again. Inside the room with the existing equipment, got 22Mbps. Which is about the best that 54G equipment can do. Elsewhere in the house, the signal dropped off and on the far side, a connection couldn't be made.
UniFi - not pointing in any "good" direction - just sitting on the corner of a bed facing up. In the same room, 90Mbps - in fact almost everywhere in the house it was 75-90Mbps. Downstairs, upstairs - didn't matter. Only when there were 5+ walls in the way did the bandwidth drop to 65Mbps. Out in the garage it was 75Mbps.
I'm sold. If the house wasn't wired for ethernet, I'd put one an AC model (I don't need the LR version) into the ceiling at the center of the house for complete coverage. Might do that anyway, since the run would be really, really easy thanks to the PoE.

Back to the restaurant - I was afraid that mounting was going to be an issue in the restaurant. Cables need to be out of the way and not look like junk. Based on testing at home, I don't think any visible mounting will matter. My house is about 2x larger than this small restaurant and the unifi covered the entire area completely. Our goal is to have restaurant coverage, but not much more - don't want neighboring businesses to get access, so the power level control will need to be tweaked on-site. Today is installation day.

If anyone is really interested in the raw numbers from the testing, post and I can provide those. Of course, they are extremely location specific.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2016
These AP's are my go-to devices for all the people in my life who constantly complain about how the wifi in their home never has enough coverage. Time and time again clients come to me after becoming fed up with consumer level "range boosters" and wifi AP's, that are frequently far more expensive than they have any right to be.

Ubiquiti Unifi AP's run on Power over Ethernet, so they need no power cord plugged into them, just the ethernet cable. Anywhere you can get a single ethernet cable, you can put one of these. They come with mounting instructions for plaster walls and ceilings, as well as foam panel drop ceilings. You don't have to worry about having a nearby power outlet. The power injector stays with your router and modem, out of sight and out of mind (Or you can purchase a switch/router with built in PoE for a super clean install).

You can connect as many of these AP's as you like together under a single SSID, and they will form one unified wifi network. You can watch Netflix in your basement on your tablet, walk upstairs to your bedroom, and never lose your connection, even as your tablet is shifted from one AP to the other. Use 2, use 4, use 100, your devices will only ever think they are connected to a single AP.

Configuration is done through management software on your computer, which only needs to run while you are setting up the network or making changes to it. It is not a brainless setup, but if you know what an IP address, a subnet mask, and a gateway address is, you will have no problem setting these units up. There are options for MAC filtering, VLANs, bandwidth throttling, usage monitoring. You can even run a guest wifi network alongside your main one.

This is an enterprise level device, but is actually perfect for home users. Once setup by a person with basic networking and IT skills, you simply never have to touch them again. They don't require fiddling or reboots or any tech support incantations of "reboot the unit 3 times while facing non magnetic north with the your tongue angle set to 16.8 radians, and it should start working again." They just work.

I use these AP's specifically because I know that once I install them, I'm never going to have to go back and mess with them ever again. This makes my clients, and more importantly, me, very happy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2016
Fantastic. Using it as AP. Setup could not be easier. Okay, it could be easier :) but hey.

Guest network controls are awesome. I even was able to share my network printer with the Guest network - all the while keeping a wall between guests and everything else on the LAN, except for the Internet and the shared printer.

Signal is very strong - finally! I was embarrassed by my Fios router's WiFi being so low, I'd get neighbour's' WiFi way higher. No longer! Mine is all-bars now, the strongest throughout the apartment, as it should be.

I simply mounted it on the wall vertically. The device is VERY pleasant aesthetically, even the green circle glow is awesome - despite the fact I usually dislike things like that.

Since power is injected via Ethernet, only the network cable is attached to the Unifi - so it looks very clean when installed. Yet, its construction allows to snake the cable inside the wall to make the wire completely invisible, if so desired. I didn't do that yet.

Buy it!

Disclaimer: I paid the full darn price for this device because, apparently, nobody cared to offer it to me either for free or at a significant discount. So you better believe this review is honest.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2016
Needing to get Wifi to work in the room above the garage, I had to purchase a Wifi type extender. After doing much research I decided to purchase the Ubiquiti Networks Enterprised AP Unifi access point. The reviews on this type Wifi extender had rated this device the highest. After opening the package, I thoroughly read the instructions and then began the installation. Once I installed the ethernet cables, I started downloading the software. Everything seemed to be going okay. Then I had my first problem and didn't know exactly what to do, so I Googled my problem and got some ideas how to fix it, but still couldn't finish. I did read that the version of JAVA could be a problem.
I then asked for help by emailing Ubiquiti from their web site page. Someone emailed me back and after 2 or 3 days of emails and reinstalling software and reinstalling JAVA to the right version, I was able to get this extender to work. We finally had to use Teamreviewer which allows the technical guy at Ubiquiti to operate my computer for the final step to work. By the way, the technical support guy worked long hours including working on New Years day. Best technical support that I have ever had!
One thing that is critical is you must install JAVA 7 update 79 in order to be successful. If you have a PC, you will need to download both JAVA 7 update 79 x64bit (online) and x86bit (Offline) If you have a Mac computer, you will only need to download Java 7 update 79. I had JAVA 8 update 66 on my iMac and I had to get help in replacing it with JAVA 7 update 79. One warning, if you have a Mac computer, you MUST get Apple Support for guidance on how to replace your JAVA software, since it is not simple or intuitive. When downloading the controller software, you just need to download the right one for your computer, either PC or Mac.
One last comment, this access point does not send a strong signal vertically. In other words, it sends a very strong signal for one floor of your house and not very good for sending a signal to a different floor be it a 2nd floor or basement if you have the Unifi installed on the first floor. I was told this by a local company that sells them and also by the technical guy who helped me to get mine working.
By the way, I had a hard wired ethernet port in the room over the garage and that's where I connected my unit. Some owners install their unit at the modem or router. If you install this access point device in a different location as the same floor as your router, it will extend the Wifi signal and you will be getting the signal from your router and the access point device. One last piece of advice, take some time and read a lot of the reviews of this unit on Amazon. Some reviewers take the time to give a lot of good advice.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 335 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here