Spring Deals Automotive HPC Best Books of the Month New-season heels nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Pitch Perfect 3 available to buy Pitch Perfect 3 available to buy Pitch Perfect 3 available to buy  Echo Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite Shop now TG18PP_gno

on October 22, 2014
My first time experience with this product was good. I am an experienced IT consultant, and did not find the setup hard- but as other reviewers have noted, the experience is VERY different than the process used with the typical consumer router/WiFi.

Others have noted many details, but here are a couple concepts that I have not seen mentioned so far:
With these access points you do not configure the unit directly. The required (and not included in the box) management software guides you through the initial setup with so little fuss that it's not obvious what it did. My first unit was ready to use in minutes, once I had downloaded and installed the management software (the download link is listed in the quick start guide, but not very obvious.)

So here are the concepts Ubiquiti uses, but are not well laid out in the literature:

Settings of all kinds are stored in a "site" - and stored in the management software of the computer you are using, not in the access point (at first.)
This includes the the admin user name and password, the SSID, and the pre-shared key (which is the official name of the WiFi password.)
When you connect the UniFi to your LAN, the management software discovers it and lists it as an "unplaced" Access point. Using a graphical drag and drop interface, you "place" the unit in a site - and when you drop it there, with no further action on the part of the user, the management software pushes all the relevant settings out to the new access point.
You don't see this happen during the initial wizard, if this is a brand new installation on a PC that has never had the software before. In a brand new install, a site called "default" is created, and the new access point is place in the site with the settings you entered in response to questions from the wizard.
If you are setting up a single one of these access points for home use - that's it. You are done. It's disconcertingly quick, and leaves you thinking there must be more to do.
The simplicity is partly because the wizard is good, but mostly because there really is not a lot to set on a device like this that is a pure access point. It's not a router, it doesn't do NAT, or fire walling, or port forwarding, or QOS, or DHCP. It doesn't need, and normally would not have a fixed IP address.
It's just an access point - but it is a very, very good access point. Far better range and throughput than my ASUS RT-N16, which is a pretty good unit itself.
So, it's a great addition to a network that already has a router, and needs WiFi. Where it really starts to shine is if you need to cover a large space with multiple access points. Add another unit to the LAN, open the management software, drag it to the "site" and you are done. You can add dozens, or even hundreds. And when you do, they have a feature that is not available on any home WiFi: they create a single large Wifi coverage area, and the units talk to each other, and keep track of what client devices are connected to which access point, and automatically hand off from one to another, similar to the way cell towers hand your phone off to a different tower.
Lastly, to clear up one common question: You DO NOT need the management software running on any computer on the LAN for all the good stuff to happen. Access points DO store the settings internally in non-volatile memory. Units DO talk directly to each other to do the cool roaming hand off independent of the console. You only need to run the management console to make changes. And if you have a bunch of access points in a "site", the changes are automatically pushed out to all the units in a "rolling update"
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 19, 2015
Very easy to setup with the latest software and works great using the standard settings. Before and after signal heat apps attached.

I bought the LR long range unit but the highest power setting caused some problems due to too much signal so the standard unit is fine for in the home.
review imagereview image
44 comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 3, 2015
Had my UniFi Acces Point for over 8 months now and boy, if I could buy another... I would, but I don't need to - because this doohickey more than adequately provides full signal bars all throughout my 3-level home. I have 3 signal bars halfway down the block when getting mail and even able to access my wifi when at the neighbors across the street. I have it mounted on the ceiling on the upper floor and used an existing speaker/ceiling drop which I routed its wire to the media panel which fortunately is also on the upper floor. I was able to find the location of media cabinet from my unfinished attic by poking through the ceiling with a fiberglass wire pull rod and leading it to the access point. Wear a mask... you don't wanna be breathing in the fiberglass insulation up there.

[UPDATE - 12 Months Later]
Still solid as heck... no fails at all and reboots/recovers smoothly after broadband failure or from a power loss. Super strong signals and zero complaints of laggy internet even during large parties.
review image
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 20, 2012
The Ubiquiti UniFi access points are easily in the same class as Cisco Aironet 1040 access points but are a fraction of the price. A single UAP-LR covers my entire house (and patio) with great signal strength, and replaced two older "consumer grade" 802.11g APs. It doesn't bog down with a dozen (or more) connected and active devices like our old APs did. And it's never "locked up" requiring a reboot to allow new connections like the old ones did every month or so.

It's worth pointing out that Ubiquiti UniFi wireless products are not "consumer products" (as in home retail consumers). They are targeted for commercial application, comparable to Cisco Aironet wireless products. In other words, they are not targeted towards the average home user where you just plug it in and it works. You need to have knowledge about networking and be willing to potentially do the initial configuration on a "sandbox" (isolated) network unless you're willing to disrupt your "live" network. The controller used for configuring/monitoring it is Java based, so if you have other software that is dependent on specific Java versions, then you will want to use a separate VM to install and run the controller from. The device itself is actually running a Linux kernel, and allows you to SSH into it to do troubleshooting, but I've only logged into it out of curiosity. It's an amazingly well engineered device.

It provides a variety of features that commercial network admins will appreciate, like multiple VLANs, QoS (per user rate limiting), WMM, and isolated Guest traffic (and a whole bunch of guest user features like billing integration). But residential installations can simply skip those since they aren't enabled by default (although home installs probably would want to enable WMM to prioritize voice and video). It also supports L3 management if you have multiple subnets and APs.

Cables don't typically come with commercial products and this is no exception. The device provides a clean ceiling mount installation with no visible cables and a very sleek low profile appearance. You simply need to drill a hole for the cable and then two for the anchors (a template is provided). The hardest part was snaking the cat5e cable down from the attic in my vaulted ceiling, but it was worth the effort. It comes with a Ubiquiti proprietary 24 Volt power PoE adapter. Note this model AP can't be 802.3af 48 volt PoE switch powered like the more expensive UAP-Pro model, so you have to use the included PoE adapter. Be aware that you shouldn't locate the AP where people will regularly be within 6-7 feet of it - it's putting out 27 dBm @ 2.4 GHz! The Tx radio is about 3 times more powerful than most home APs, which explains why one of these will replace 2 (or even 3) consumer grade APs.

In a nutshell, the Ubiquiti UAP-LR provides commercial grade performance and features but at a home user price. But don't expect home user ease of setup. Highly recommended for network geeks who want a kicka** AP at home and you're too honest to steal a Cisco 1040 from work. Sure, the 1040 is dual band N but it only puts out a max 20 dBm (and costs 3x the UAP-LR).

Update July 12, 2015: After 39 months of trouble-free operation, my unit sometimes will not restart after a power outage. It takes several power on/off cycles on the PoE adapter to get it to boot and run. I ruled out the PoE injector as the problem by swapping it with another and the result is the same. Looks like it's about at it's EOL. Not sure what I'll replace it with. It's a great AP, but I think there might be better options out there now since Ubiquiti hasn't really been updating their product line in the past three years.
2424 comments| 206 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 14, 2016
Outstanding product. I have a fairly large single story home at 5500 square feet. Which means a lot of horizontal space. A home router wifi signal was dismal and simply wouldn't cover the whole house. Thought to give this a try. We ran the ethernet in the attic and placed the Unifi unit on the ceiling in a somewhat central location. Now I have nearly full signal through the entire home including the backyard and garage, even out to the mailbox. Internet is fast and stable on the wireless devices. Couldn't be happier. And we only needed a single unit. It'd designed to be installed on the wall or ceiling and looks like a smoke alarm. It's very slick.

For those concerned about setup. It couldn't be easier for basic home use. I simply plugged the Unifi into my router, downloaded the unifi setup from the site and ran the program. It was literally as simple as typing out what you want the ID to be and adding a password. Then setting the admin user and pass. That's it. Really. Done.

I just used the same ssid as my current router since all my devices are setup to use it already. Same password too. Then I logged into my router and disabled wifi so that I have a single signal in the house. All my devices connected to the unifi instantly without a hitch.

Really, this device couldn't be easier to setup for basic use and the signal is rock solid.

Please note that there is an "AC" version available that can handle higher speeds but is more expensive. I get about 85MBPS on my wired computer, and 50MBPS on the WiFi with the Unifi which is more than enough for what we use our wifi devices for. So I opted for this over the other one. If you are running your main computer off the wifi, or need your maximum speed over wifi, then you might consider the AC model. For us, it's just phones/tablets that are on wifi, everything else is hardwired.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 27, 2013
I've used these for a while but today was the big test. I had 100 users coming in for a conference, each user had a iPad or laptop. I was really nervous to see if this access point could handle 100+ users. We'll the conference started at 8:30AM this morning and its now going on 11:00AM. I have consistently had over 80+ users on and everyone is flying. Im EXTREMELY impressed with this access point. I have it hooked to a Netgear 1750 wireless router but i have the Netgears wireless turned off. Im basically just using the Netgear for DHCP and DNS. Our cable connection is a 80\5 connection which is just the high end business class cable connection. So far so good!
review image
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 21, 2016
We have been using at our company these devices for over a year now, and what started as a test has become our want to buy product. Of our 18 Access points we used to have around, we have replaced 12 by only 7 Long range Unifi AP-Long range, speed keeps up and we have had events with over 100 people connected to a single AP. Management is just formidable with the downloadable very easy to setup "controller". They are outstanding in terms of reliability. Realized this when I found out that one of the devices had been up and running for 292 days (of course APC UPS 1300 powers my networking devices), and the funny part is I did not have to reset it, as the problem was one of my connected clients. These and more statistics are given by the controller software. See the attached pictures.

We are planning on aquiring more Ubiquiti products to manage in an easier 21st century way.
review imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 1, 2014
Invest in the LR trust me. I Have 3 of these and only 1 is LR. The standard low cost version is by all means good but if you live in a large house the LR is a must. I have these in MESH and the hand off is not so great. Over all these are fantastic AP's for the money. They do Run Linux. Don't ask me about DDWRT, yes you probably can but the installed firmware is the way to go.

Pros: Cheap Reliable. You do not have to run the Management software all the time. Easy to mount, wall or ceiling. Status LED provides good diagnostics. Boot time is above average. Highly configurable , you can force specific hosts to a AP using diagnostics mode. Good coverage and throughput on N stay away from 40mhz.

Cons: Upgrades, You must upgrade last in the chain (last remote host first). Host software is Java based. POE is not true POE. You can't just plug this into a standard POE switch and go. Requires Their power supply however they do offer an adapter for true POE. LR looks like it only offers a small increase in power and capability based on the numbers, don't be fooled they are NOT the same. If you have a large house get the LR. Don't make the mistake I made, Don't buy too many. Overlap can cause issues. PLAN your network. SET THEM TO AUTO not HIGH POWER. Let the AP's do the work for you. Ditch the manual and read the forums.

Over all a good performer but don't expect 300 mb/sec on any of these AP's do your homework. I find these to be reliable once mounted correctly and configured correctly. Don't over do it. They are made to be set up and left alone.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 15, 2014
Enterprise grade but don't let that scare you away.

Let me start by saying that I have been in networking for over 15 years and dealt with innumerable consumer and enterprise grade products. This access point is simple to set up. It takes 4 steps. 1) Plug it in using the PoE injector or a PoE switch. 2) Install the UniFi software 3) Wait for the discovery. 4) Fill in the SSID and Key. That's it. You're done. Simple. There aren't even that many features that can be configured. You'll be fine with the defaults.

Here's why I bought it. My home was built in 1949 and the walls are lath and plaster. Wi-Fi attenuates quickly through the walls. From one side of my house to the other, I can lose close to 20db and my Cisco WRT320N wasn't able to provide enough coverage through this old home. It's enough to get a signal across the house, but it degrades. This long range AP gives enough boost to improve the signal so it reaches across the house and out int the yard. So far it has been stable but it's been up less than a week.

The other reason I bought the Unifi is that I like single purpose devices so that I can upgrade components when I need to versus being tied to a product cycle. My WRT320N is more than capable of handling my broadband networking needs, but the wireless was less than stellar in my house. By adding the Unifi, I can upgrade either one when I want to. Also, if the Unifi fails for some reason, I can always fall back to my WRT320N. If the WRT320N, I can use a spare router I have to replace it.

Some caveats:

You do have to install the UniFi Controller on a PC or Mac for configuration. You don't need to keep it running after that but you won't collect statistics. If you want to collect stats and always have access to the controller, you will need to dedicate a computer to running the UniFi controller. There is a way to install on Linux which I haven't tried but will so that I can run it on my RaspberryPi.

The controller software relies on Java 1.6 and I don't know if it will work with later versions of Java. It should, in theory, work but I can't be sure. The release notes say they have relaxed the JRE 1.6 requirement, but I haven't tried it out. Just beware that if you have Java installed, you may have issues installing and using the UniFi controller. This cost a star because product vendors should keep pace with updates for software they depend upon. In the case of Java, the lack of support for multiple Java versions on typical Windows computers is a known problem and Ubiquiti should address it rather than forcing customers to use older, buggier versions of code.

You do need a router of some sort that can do DHCP, NAT, and what not. This is just an access point meaning it connects your wireless devices to the the network and nothing else. In your home, a consumer router will do the rest. Once I had everything set-up, and tested (all of 20 minutes most of which was reconfiguring my wireless devices to the new AP), I turned off the wireless features on my WRT320N.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 4, 2015
I was getting really frustrated with my Comcast all in one modem/router/wireless setup so I dumped it and got a few different pieces. One of them was this Ubiquiti AP-LR. The instructions that are included are all about how to mount it. For the software here's what I did:

Connect the wire from your router to the LAN side of the PoE box. Then from the PoE jack to this access point and plug it in to power. After that's done then go to this site: https://www.ubnt.com/download/unifi/

On the left click on AP-LR and if you're using windows download this file: UniFi-installer4.6.3.exe (those numbers might be different depending on what version they are on)

If you are using a mac then get this file: UniFi4.6.3.pkg

Install that software (click yes, ok next a bunch) and then "Launch a Browser to Manage the Network" It should now walk you through the initial configuration. The SSID is going to be the name that you want for your wireless network and the password is going to be the password for that network. Unless you want wide open access for "guests" then leave the guest box unchecked.

Now click yes ok next a bunch and it should be pretty much setup. Connect your devices to the wireless with the password that you configured.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse