Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning Landline Landline Landline  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,115 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,157 reviews
on April 13, 2013
I bought a watch off Amazon a couple of weeks ago, and when it arrived it was HUGE. I swore up and down it was a man's watch, but the seller insisted it was a woman's watch. Anyway, it was SO big, that I knew I had to remove at least 5 links (yes, 5 links). I called around to the local jewelers in my neighborhood and they wanted anywhere from $19.99-$27.99 to remove the links! NO WAY. So, I got back on amazon to look for a link remover tool and saw the great review on this kit. I ordered it and it arrived so quickly. Seriously, this is the greatest gadget I have ever bought! I can add/remove links on as many watches as I want over my lifetime for 5 bucks instead of wasting $20 going to the jeweler for ONE watch. This is easy and it worked perfectly! I am so pleased with this purchase. I highly recommend!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2015
I love buying watches on Amazon, I would never find the selection or the prices in a department store. The only problem is I prefer metal band watches and I always need at least two links removed. It's a pain to take it in to a store and after I moved, I couldn't find a store that would adjust a watch I hadn't purchased there. I was scared to do it myself, I wasn't sure I could figure it out and I was afraid I would damage my new watch. The kit is only $5 and shipped Amazon prime, no real risk. It did not come with instructions but I found tons of tutorials online. It took me a minute to figure out the first link but then it was easy. I adjusted my watch band in about 10 minutes and was wearing it right away. So glad I bought this! I really liked the watch "holder", I'm not sure I could've done it without something lilke that to hold and stabilize the band while removing and adding links. The only reason I gave it four stars was that I could've used some kind of tiny pliers. I used tweezers and that worked fine.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2016
Works good. Was able to easily shorten a watch band with this. The blue plastic part makes it easy to keep your watch laying sideways and to tap out the pins. Just be sure your taking them out the correct direction as the metal on these are thin and will bend if hammered too hard.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2016
Does the job. My only complaint is that the punches are weak and bend easily. Put a soft towel down underneath this thing so as to not scratch your watch while adjusting the band.
review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2013
This tool is the best watchband sizing tool I've used in years. It's perfect for those tough pin-and-collar setups as found on watches like the Seiko Monster, Orient 300m saturation diver, and Seiko SARB series. Great for removing pins and also putting them back in.

There's really no comparison between this one and the other $5 plastic blue screw-driven vise tool. You can get the pin driver on this one aligned perfectly every time because you're looking right at it, vice guessing where the hole is, as with the other tool. This means no scratched links. Also, the other tool will bend apart as you're screwing the driver in.

This is a high quality tool for next to no cost. My only regret is that I didn't get it sooner.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2017
I ordered this kit in desperation, after two hours of struggling to adjust my new Timex watch with household items like paper clips and tiny screwdrivers (which involved a lot of sweat, some tears, and even a bleeding finger). And I'm so glad I did!

The kit only cost me $4, much less than the $10 it would've cost to have the links removed at my local watch repair shop. And although the parts in this kit are cheaply made, they are still in perfectly good shape to use on more watches in the future. I used a gentle, careful touch, as several reviewers suggested, and had zero problems with the drivers bending. Easy does it!

It did take a few tries for me to line up the driver correctly, and the whole process to adjust my watch took maybe 15 minutes. Overall, these tools work splendidly. I'm so thrilled to finally be wearing my new watch!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2017
Cheap materials. Bent and one piece loose and fell out used only one time. Too bad you can't give zero stars. Buy a better product this one doesn't cut it. Tried to return and come to find out no returns allowed for this product!
review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2014
Chosen and bought after extensive research.

Thank you all, reviewers, for a lot of meaningful opinions, whether positive or negative.
You saved me some money, as I first intended to go for one of these screw driven tools - they show a bit more tech, like a dedicated machine.
But as other reviewers said, one is likely to go blind with them, because if you can't see the hole of the link, you can end by pushing hard the pin next to it and get the pin broken, plus the bracelet scratched.
There could be also an alignment trick with them, since the mounting height of the screw doesn't match every band thickness, unless the tool is equipped with some sort of elevating support for the band.

So you don't need anything else more expensive, just carefully use the provided pins and you'll get no more headache in the future with adjusting.

Here's how, for non-techies:

Every bracelet has arrows underside, indicating both the links able to be removed and the direction the pins need to be pushed OUT.
Choose the right slot of the holder for your band following the thickness, it should fit in one of these without much loose space - it's crucial it stays vertically.
The link hole you want to remove should be above one of the holder's holes, as the pin needs space to go out.
There are 3 pins of different thicknesses to choose from.
If you can't notice which one is closest to your hole dimension, but you got a somewhat usual or big band, start trying with the thicker first, as it's more likely to suit (the 2 others are much more delicate and suitable for very thin bracelets only).

OUT
Place one of the provided pins above the link pin, trying to align them vertically, like an extension (alignment is very important here!).
Apply a few light taps with the hammer (for very thin holes, use the plastic head). Usually, after 3-4 taps, the pin should go out.
Note that the pin has a thicker head at the opposite end.
Make the same work with the pin placed on the last link(s) you want to remove.

IN
First, align the empty holes of the unconnected links.
For reinserting the link pin, you have to push it from the reverse side, in the opposite direction of the arrow, with its thicker head outside, otherwise won't work (extremely important!).
Be sure you place its thinner head inside the hole by hand and gently apply few taps with the hammer, until the pin is completely buried.
If you face some resistance, then when the link pin is still out 1-2 mm, place on top of it the same provided pin you used to get it out, align them carefully and apply other few soft taps until it disappears.

Hope it helps you with some sort of guidance.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This product, while well made and useful, does not work for all types of watch bands. In addition, there are no instructions on how to use it properly.

Pros:
Works well for watch bands that have a pound-out pin.
Quality construction.
Very reasonably priced.

Cons:
Does not work on watch bands that have a push-pin design.
Comes with no instructions.
Nothing mentioned on Amazon site that this is only usable for pound out watch bands.
Poorly packaged.

Not being an expert on watches; I purchased this item due to the rave reviews on Amazon. It arrived in poor condition, with the box damaged and the 3 pins loose in the packaging. Despite what people have stated; if you're not mechanically inclined, like myself; you'll need to look up a You-Tube video on how to use it properly. That's exactly what I did, however after doing precisely what was demonstrated in one of the videos; I found it impossible to remove the links from my Japanese Casio model 3406P G-Shock watch. After an hour of frustration; I headed for the mall to have the band adjusted by a watch expert. I brought the kit with me and asked the technician what I was doing wrong. She took one look at my watch band and told me that the links could not be removed with the kit featured here. Her explanation was that there are 2 types of pins used in watch bands. One is the pound-out pin, which this kit is designed for. The other is a push-pin design, which requires an entirely different technique to remove the links. My watch has the push-pin design. Since I know nothing about watch bands; it wasn't apparent to me that this kit would never have worked for my watch.

The bottom line is that if you have a watch band with the pound-out pins; this item will perform flawlessly. If on the other hand, you have a watch band that uses the push-pin design; this kit will not work at all. I'm deducting 1 star from my review, as the description of the product on Amazon doesn't indicate that it won't work on the push-pin design. I'm also removing an additional star, as the item comes poorly packaged and includes no instructions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2017
For the price I can't complain about this tool very much. It saved me a trip to the jeweler to adjust a pair of watch straps and then it went straight into my junk drawer where it will probably stay until the heat death of the universe. My only real complaint is that all three pins arrived bent and had to be straightened with needlenose pliers before I could use them. With straight pins it's very easy to use and there are plenty of very short youtube videos illustrating the correct way to remove and insert watch band links.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse