Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 320 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 492 reviews
on June 20, 2016
I'm one of the few Chinese people with naturally curly hair..so it's hard to figure out what products to use since a lot of labels seem to target anyone but Asian.. but it doesn't matter what the labels say,.. I've used multicultural hair products.. hair is hair.

I have mostly 3A curls, live in Houston which is hot and humid, and have had shoulder length to lower back length hair. My routine involves this product and it gives me defined, soft curls after i break the curl cast.

The steps: wash scalp and root of hair with deva curl no-poo, rinse, do NOT squeeze any water out, flip head upside-down away from water, use carols daughter conditioner (or whatever curly hair conditioner) and run your fingers throughout all the strands to get out excess hair and to feel a good slip within all the strands, leave most of the conditioner in (you can wash some out or leave it all in depending on the weather and dryness of your hair), still upside-down. ...apply the Kinky custard using your hands like walls... sandwich hair between your palms and slide down.. at this point, you're trying to keep your curls together, don't run your fingers through the hair or you'll create stringy curls, do not wash out. head still upside-down, with your palms at the ends of hair, move palms upwards towards scalp and squeeze some excess water out.. you're using this motion to encourage the curl pattern. use a cotton t-shirt, microfiber towel, or curly hair towel to wrap your hair in to absorb excessive moisture... don't use a Terry towel bc the little loops in the towel will cause stringy, frizzier curls. I take the towel off and air dry.. some people like using diffusers and hair clips at the roots to prevent flatter hair at the top since wet hair can weigh down quite a bit. after the hair dries, using the cupping upward motion to squeeze and break the curl cast (the crispy feel of gel). Kinky custard doesn't leave a white powdery mess after its scrunched.
review image
77 comments| 84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2015
Y'all. Hey ladies! Agreed with many of the 4a/b ladies, that if the right amount and application happen with this product, it's awesome.
After sectioning, I apply a bit of leave-in conditioner, then coconut oil, then finger through the Curling Custard.
I usually air dry to avoid heat damage, but know that with this product, when you air dry, will take a few days to get some heights without picking. Also takes me a day and a half to completely dry through. Attached photos with Custard in my hair: first is 2nd day, second photo is in need of a wash, maybe 5th day.
review image review image
0Comment| 81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2016
I will be very sad if this company ever goes away. I have 3c hair and I always get compliments about how shiny and healthy my hair looks. I love the smell and the consistency which makes it easy to work with. I have been using Kinky-Curly for the past 7+ years and believe that it has helped me attain longer hair because it is not drying or hardening so there has been less breakage. Stretched out, my hair is now past my hip bones! Plus this product is cruelty free!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2015
I've used this for years and still love it. As much as I dislike hair-grading, for the sake anyone it might help, my hair is 3c with a little 4a at the crown. I use it in conjunction with Curl Junkie "Curls In A Bottle" leave in and a Curl Junkie "Curls in a Bottle". I use the Kinky Curly Curling Custard in a small amount as a last step to keep my curls more in tact and to prevent frizz. The smell is a very light cherry-like scent. I'm sensitive to fragrance and It's perfectly fine for me.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2017
I put it on while my hair is sopping wet after washing, conditioning and applying Kinky-Curl's knot today. This should last me a long time. I don't need to use much. I need to teach myself that a little goes a long way with this product. I'm accustomed to using a ton of product. This can be crunchy if overused. I love my curls!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2016
Definitely holds curl, but pretty different from most other curl gels/mousses I've tried. Hair takes way longer to dry with this in (with diffuser or just air drying) and can have a weird/slimy texture, especially if you use too much. But nothing has worked as well at getting consistent curls out of my hair, so I'll keep experimenting with it! (And one jar should last you a super long time)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2014
For the two years I've had naturally curly hair, I've been using this product on and off. I now use it consistently with the Knot Today conditioner. This gel takes a little trial and error at first, but once you get the right amount for your hair, the results are miraculous. Every time I use this gel, I get very consistent results. It leaves my hair very soft and shiny and provides great hold. I am sold on this gel. A little goes a long way, but a lot goes even further (especially if you have longer hair). Yes, it leaves your hair crunchy when it first dries, but that's what gel is supposed to do in general. It creates a cast to hold the curl in place, and once I scrunch out that cast, my hair is super defined and moisturized. Yes, it is on the pricey side, but I've had this jar for a year, and I tend to be heavy handed with products. So, you get your money's worth out of it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2016
Yes I like my order of kinky curly I like the way it makes my hair curl I like the way that it dries quickly than others I have used. it's light easy to use. I like it mostly for summer. In the winter I have very dry skin and I don't know if Kinky Curly have an oil base product I can use that would support me in the winter months I'm sad that I cannot mix oil based products with kinky curly butt if I have that I would use it all year round but basically it's my summer routine love it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2013
My daughter has corkicelli or 3b curls. Her hair looks gorgeous with the Curly Girl method and this stuff. I also bought the Knot Today detangler. This custard gel is all natural, it smells great, it has no harsh chemicals, and it looks amazing. It washes right off your hands when you are finished applying it, too. We think it's worth every penny. While we are "Curly Girl Method" dropouts, we will use this gel forever. It has some info we missed, when we were just reading on the internet about the CG method.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2016
Use it daily, well every other day or third. Peolple always ask what I use. It freezes your natural curl while wet. I use any leave in conditioner before putting it on.
review image review image
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 22 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here