Your Garage Beauty LyingGame STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 116 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 131 reviews
on October 3, 2014
When I was a teenager, I bought one of these to keep on my bed as both a handy globe and as a pillow. It got A LOT of use over the years as both. It isn't quite as accurate in its detail as a standard globe, but if you just need a handy reference to find Uzbekistan or the Falkland Islands, it does the job just fine. Plus, a Replogle twelve inch isn't very comfortable to put behind your head. Mine lasted for years without any damage whatsoever, although it did wear some due to its near-daily use as a head rest while reading. I wish I had never listened to my first wife's suggestions to get rid of it, because I suspect that whoever found it at the Goodwill got a lot of use out if it too. I had my pillow globe longer than I had that prudish shrew, and I so wish I had kept the globe instead.

I bought one of these for my ten year old daughter, figuring that she will get as much use out of one as I did. It is beautifully colored and just as useful and comfy as I remembered, but there was one issue. Her globe didn't have nearly enough stuffing inside, and would not hold its shape. As a result, it looked caved in most of the time and was hard to see places on it. I ended up getting my mother to cut open the seam where the manufacturers put the stuffing into it (on my daughter's globe, that seam was located in the Southern Ocean down near Antarctica, and was easy to find as it looks a bit different from the rest of the seams). We put additional stuffing inside until it was the consistency of a firm pillow (as mine had been) and she hand sewed it back up. It was an easy fix to be sure, but it seems silly that they wouldn't stuff it correctly at the factory. Maybe I got one that was off, but if you get one, know that it can be remedied pretty easily. Otherwise, these soft globes are fantastic and she loves it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2015
Crazy pricey but it has South Sudan and dozens of other up-to-date details...way better (more accurate, more detailed) than your average kids' globe, and the kids in my house love to play with it as just a toy as well. It's been strapped on to be a turtle back, featured in various tossing games and it can sit as an extra pillow on their beds. I love having an easily accessible way to show them where things are located and it's much more tactile and appealing than a globe on a stand. It seems to be remarkably sturdy in its stitching and fabric...so I'm hoping it will last many, many years...hopefully up through middle & high school.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2015
This is my second Hugg-A-Planet. I purchased the first one shortly after my oldest daughter was born. Amazing that we still have it 25 years later although the "world" has changed a good bit. I think my daughter developed her love of maps (and traveling the world) from spending so much time when she was growing up learning geography from her Hugg-A-Planet. So, for her 25th birthday I purchased an updated one just for fun and she was thrilled!
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2014
I got my Hugg-A-Planet for Valentine's Day, and i'm 11 years old. I absolutely was ecstatic when it arrived. It arrived a day earlier than it was estimated and I believe all of the states and countries are labeled correctly! But... it was very mushy when I first took it out of the box, luckily, on the side there is a velcro opening where you can easily stitch open the patch inside and fill it up with more stuffing. We had some laying around from other projects, so I filled it up to my liking. Now it is strong, holds up great, and is a lot of fun to play with and bounce around with friends and family. HOWEVER, if you are purchasing it, be sure to have more stuffing ready to go b/c i doubt you will get the amount you want. Otherwise, its a great product and I DO recommend it. :)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2016
Very disappointed. My son received this item for Christmas and was so excited. Within a week, the stitching started unraveling along the seam. I suppose it's something that can be fixed but for the price I expected much higher quality.
review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2010
I purchased this globe three months ago and it has stood up to lots of play! As a toy it has been sat on, slept on, hugged, tossed around and it still has retained it's original shape beautifully! The fabric is tough and well stitched. As for cleaning all I've had to do is spot clean with a wet cloth. My favorite aspects about this globe is of coarse the educational aspects! It is very detailed and accurate as far as I can tell. It has greatly helped in exposing my two preschoolers (ages 2 and 3) to their world. We keep the globe nearby while we're reading and whenever we read about an animal or a person from another part of the world I make sure to show them on the globe where they live in comparison to that animal or person. Also, whenever my husband travels I explain to the kids where we are compared to him. Recently my husband went to North Carolina and after showing them where they live compared to NC my son (age 3) was able to show me on his own where we were and where daddy was!
All things considered, this is really fun toy and an excellent teaching tool!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2012
We've been teaching our four year old daughter and three year old son about geography, and we were concerned that learning everything from a flat map might not be the best way to conceptualize the layout of the planet. My wife and I looked at other globe options, and decided on this one as being something both fun and accessible for the little ones. Here are our thoughts after owning it for a few weeks:

Pros:
-Soft
-Durable
-Well made
-Up-to-date country labels
-Suitable for small children

Cons:
-Countries don't line-up correctly at seams (minor)
-Could use more stuffing.

Overall, pleased with the purchase. Would buy it again, or get it as a gift. You'd be hard pressed to find something with as much detail that you feel comfortable letting small children examine and play with. Given the reasonable price (roughly twenty on Amazon), I highly recommend picking this up. Go ahead... Give your children the world!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2015
Bought this for my 6 year old grandson and he immediately started talking to me about where different places are in the world. It is a very huggable ball and he is even sleeping with it. He is very much an outside kind of active boy so I was relieved when I saw that this was a real winner kind of birthday present.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2016
I ordered this for my 4 year old for Christmas because I thought it was cool. I had it on my wish list for awhile, and when she came home singing her "Seven Continents" song, I seized the opportunity. I worried she would think it was a boring gift, but she was excited as soon as she opened it. Since Christmas, it's been a hit. It's soft enough that the kids can toss it around the playroom, and they enjoy asking questions about the globe and where things are.

Highly recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2010
This product is fantastic. I have been using it for years in my classroom. I ask a question and then toss the globe to the students who raise their hands. They answer and then toss back the globe. It gets students volunteering who normally wouldn't.
It does fade after say 5 years or so and gets a little nasty from all the dirty middle school hands, so I replace them every few years and get a fresh new one. It holds up very well and has never torn. It is awesome in my history classroom. A+

I have also seen it used in Sunday School and VBS to sing "He Has the Whole World in His Hands".

Naturally as a history and geography teacher I think starting education early is very important, and this product is great. I give these as baby gifts to everyone! It is very soft and squishy and a great huggable toy! Please get a Hugg-a-world and teach your children young, so I can stop answering the question in the eighth grade "Why are there two Pacific Oceans on the Map?" (yes im serious)
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 13 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here