Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis hots Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 115 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 134 reviews
on October 26, 2012
I was so excited when I saw this because my daughter was really into making friendship bracelets. But, after we received it and she tried using it, we discovered that this is not a good buy. The storage compartment is a great idea, but its much too small to store enough threads. The clamp on top that holds all the ends of the thread is not very tight, so if you're putting in more than a few pieces, it does slide around. Lastly, there are not enough slots to hold complicated designs. We ended up returning this.
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2012
My grand daughter is 6 years old and friendship bracelets are all the rage in her kindergarten class. I got this kit for her birthday and she has been busy making bracelets for everyone she knows. I asked her if it was easy to do and she said yes and after her Mother helped her with the first ones she was able to do it by herself. It seems like a fun craft for her age bracket and she has had it for a month now and no problems have shown up with the design of the kit. I can recommend it for these reasons.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2011
I bought this friendship bracelet kit for my 10-year-old granddaughter, and she absolutely loves it. She took it home, read the directions, and started working. She told me it took her a couple of tries before she got it right, but she figured it out with no help from an adult. That would indicate to me that the directions are easy to understand. She even pointed out that there is a little diagram on the clipboard tool. She especially loves the fact that it has a "cool" slide-out drawer that holds the threads, so everything is in one piece if she wants to take it along to a friend's house or in the car.

The large butterfly clip holds the thread at the starting point, and little rubber grips hold each individual thread while you are weaving. This prevents the threads from tangling and keeps the weaving neat and easy to see. The project is long enough to provide plenty of entertainment but quick enough that she is able to complete a bracelet in a couple of hours, even while watching TV. That's important for kids who like to have a sense of accomplishment in their crafts.

The threads used in this kit are regular embroidery floss. I happened to run across a large kit of 150 packs at a craft store, but they sell them on Amazon as well. My neighbor used to do a lot of cross stitch and had a huge stash of unused threads as well. My granddaughter has made many bracelets for her friends (and me) already, and I don't see her getting bored with this for quite some time. Friendship bracelets have been around for a long time, and this makes the project even more fun.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2016
This is like using a clipboard to hold at the top with some separators at bottom to help keep strands organized. I expected it to help make the bracelet. One pattern comes with it, but a youtube video worked better. Can download more patterns from the internet, but this is way to slow and involved a process for my normally very crafty 8 year old. The storage tray tucked underneath in a drawer of device is neat, precut strands are nice, but I would not buy this again....it really is just a holder for the pieces of bracelet thread. Works for it's purpose if one has the patience to tie a gazillion little knots in the strategic order necessary to produce a nice bracelet. I will donate this item. We used to just tape it to a table surface-what I would do if I were making a bracelet in the future...or maybe even just try a clipboard to hold it on my lap....
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2014
I've been trying to make friendship bracelets since I was 11. I'm 18 now, and I finally found this. Let me tell you, it's a life saver. I could NEVER tell the strings apart with just a clipboard. The separaters on here are a godsend. They make it so easy!! I can finally make a bracelet without having to start over if my strings get messed up. Because let me tell you, as a beginner, it's NOT easy to keep your strings separate. Or to put them back in the correct order once they're jumbled up.
One issue though, the instructions they give you are terrible. I even went on to their website to watch an actual video of them making some and I still couldn't understand. They make it much more difficult than it needs to be. And again, I'm 18!!! Legit adult and I couldn't figure this thing out. So I finally went on YouTube. Watched videos starting with the basics. Then worked my way up. And in a months time, I'm making bracelets with beads knotted into them! They look like they came from a store!
So, to sum this up.. Great product. But if you're buying this for a younger child, or are just like me... Definitely check YouTube. A girl named BeyondBracelets is who I started watching. Then once I got the hang of it I started doing it on my own. It takes a while to learn, so you need patience. But very simple once you get going.
Good luck! (:
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2015
Here's the problem: Lack of instructions! I bought these for 2 girls in my family. I had never made these before and they hadn't either. Thought we'd figure it out together at Christmas BUT a huge lack of instructions. If you're giving as a gift, be sure to research how to make these on the internet, youtube, or whatever, so that you can help the kids learn how to use this. I was very disappointed that these were tossed aside because not even the girl's mothers knew how to make these bracelets.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2011
Purchased the My Friendship Bracelet Maker Kit for my 10 year old daughter for Christmas after reading so many good reviews. I must say it really is fantastic. I love that it is all "contained", with organized storage below for all of the string and its ease of use. Initially my daughter had some question as to how to set up the bracelet, so we headed to the website...unbelievable! There are lots of different patterns and designs and almost every one includes video instructions, along with other basic instructions on how to set up the threads, etc. The bracelets are really great-looking...so much better than anything she had made before the old-fashioned way. I highly recommend this item.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2014
Parents: I hope you like making friendship bracelets. My daughter absolutely HAD TO HAVE this for Christmas. (7 years old)

So, we got it for her and it turns out you pass one over the other while making a knot. And keep going, and keep going, and keep going, and keep going, and keep going, and keep going, and keep going, and keep going, and keep going, and keep going, and keep going, and keep going, and keep going, and keep going.

Get the picture?

Anyway, it was not enough to keep my daughter engaged so Daddy (me) finished it after she completed just two rows. I have to admit, it does come out pretty cool but still...

Perhaps someday she will have the willpower to complete.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2014
I bought this for my nine year old daughter for Christmas. It's put together nicely, and I like that it has a storage compartment for some floss. It has taken some time to learn how to make the knots correctly; once you get that down, it's pretty easy.

TIP: when you are making the knot, it is vital that you pull the floss correctly or else it will mess up the design. The piece of floss that you make the "4" shape with needs to be pulled straight up, while the other string needs to remain horizontal. We learned this through trial and error; the instructions don't tell you this. My daughter was frustrated until I figured this out. I hope this will help!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2013
Bought this for my 9 1/2 year old daughter for Christmas. I wouldn't recommend for any younger age group. It was a bit of a challenge at first for her but then she figured it out with the help of her Dad. We wish there were more options for designs and I also wish I had bought the refill of thread at the same time. I didn't and you should as my daughter has gone through it quickly making a bunch of bracelets. I wish the kit would make the bracelets a bit tighter as well as the bracelet tends to "curl" if you try to make it tighter, doesn't work. It's been a great way to introduce her to making the bracelets and she's looking forward to making many more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse