Industrial Deals Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 475 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,117 reviews
on May 29, 2016
Had this camera setup in my living room. Had a juvenile break into my house and the camera took a perfectly clear HD photo of the perpetrator. I gave the photo to the police and the next day the perp was picked up and all my property was recovered. Definitely paid for itself already.
review image
0Comment| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2015
I'm given the Foscam FI9831P 4 stars for two reasons. The camera is inexpensive and the technical support is outstanding. Sometimes wait times can be long but they are able and willing to handle any issues that you may have. Sam was courteous and knowledgeable. All my issues were resolved. The reason this camera doesn't receive 5 stars is because of the poorly written software for these camera's which requires a robust customer service program. The camera software is rough at best. Connections are a challenge. Making settings changes are not straight forward. If Foscam didn't support these camera's as well as they do these camera's would be useless bricks for most computer home users. The manual helps but some issues can be a little convoluted. The manual is inadequate. I recommend Foscam invest in a major robust software revision. They might save money with less calls needed into their technical support line this way.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2015
I ordered 2 of these to add to a previous order of 2. So, obviously, I like them. Based on the first 2, I found them to be very reliable little cameras at a very reasonable price.

My most recent order had issues that made me take away 1 star from what I thought was a great product.

One camera is completely pink when not in IR mode, forcing me to return it. I believe this is due to the IR filter being stuck as there is no "click" sound when the camera changes to IR mode. See the photo for an example. A quick Internet search reveals this to be not that uncommon.

Strangely, these newer cameras came with an older version of firmware than the ones I ordered months ago. Foscam documentation strongly encourages you to keep the cameras up to date. I updated the firmware, but despite following the simple directions exactly, the other camera's web interface was completely broken. Another internet search suggests that this too is a common issue. Rather than return this camera, I was able to use a tool to downgrade the firmware back to the older version that was on the camera originally and it once again works fine.

My suggestion to you is to carefully check the functionality (and if important to you, the firmware recency) before you toss the box! But, barring similar issues, you'll have a pretty good camera for much less than other options with similar features.
review image
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2014
The plug and play did not work for me but fortunately I am familiar with port forwarding in my router and setting up a static domain name for my dynamic IP address. I probably spent an hour setting up the camera but most of that was trying to get the plug and play to work. Once I gave up and setup port forwarding I was good to go. The camera works great and the video quality is what I expected.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2016
DO NOT BUY A USED ONE. Worth pointing that out because the Camera needs to registered with a Foscam account and you cannot use it if it has been previously registered but not un-registered. You can go back and forth with Foscam support but they are generally very unhelpful and you'll likely end up with something useless.

I've had one of these for almost a year and it's been flawless. Setting up is very straightforward using the Foscam app. If you want to get a bit more functionality (and I do) I use Surveillance Station with my Synology NAS. This set up is a little more complex, but not too hard if you're half IT savvy.

The image quality is fantastic, motion detection works perfectly, and I can access from anywhere in the world.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2015
Camera quality good. Sound quality is horrible and basically non-functional, but I don't see that being critical element of how I will be using it. Setting the camera up and getting reliable access to it and a C1 model I also bought has been a bit of a challenge. I'm working through the various apps and ways I can access the cameras from an android tablet, Surface Pro 2, Windows phone, wife's iPhone & iPad and my desktop. I also had challenges getting the email alerts to work, but finally stumbled onto a solution on a Foscam forum and both cameras are providing email alerts as expected.

It's all a work in progress, but I'm happy now that I've got things working and have ordered two more cameras to get good coverage of all areas of the house and entries.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2015
Received the Foscam FI9831P today. Overall I am very happy with the purchase so far. Once it was setup everything ran smoothly. Was even able to tie it into apps fairly quickly...however....I am only giving the unit a 4 star rating because it isnt really...plug and play. I tried to follow the installation instructions for the Plug and Play Aspects of the unit...let me say...underwhelming. QR reader was not accepting the tag.So I called the help line and got a call center with foreign people with very american names, my rep was Sammuel Brown, something stright from the sitcom Outsourced. Anyway, he was extremely helpful since he directed me to a weblet that allowed him to remotely control my computer and he set everything up for me. He was very eager to please and if I could give feedback on their service alone it would be 5 stars and I am usually kind of person who asks for a rep in the US right off the bat. So kudos to "Sammuel Brown" for his 5 star service!!!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2017
Update: 6/29/2017 - After Foscam reached out to me through my Amazon review, they informed me the company that I had been trying to get in touch with (Foscam.us) was a distributor no longer associated with Foscam. They arranged my RMA and shipped out a new, replacement model the same day they received mine. I just received it last night and the night vision video quality is 10 times better than it ever was, even when I bought the camera new. Changing the review from 1-star to 4-stars. We have liked the easy interface and phone apps of this camera, and love that when we travel, we can easily get the camera onto a private network to use it. Had I known the vendor I was reaching out to wasn't part of the company, I would have gotten a replacement a long time ago. At least now I know who to contact should I have other issues with the camera.

Original Review: _____Don't waste your money. I've had two of these (the Foscam FI9831P v2 and a Foscam FI9821W v2). Both versions were relatively easy to setup and provided decent images at first. After 6 months, the first camera died and wouldn't power on anymore. We bought another one because it was cheaper than normal baby monitors, but after 6mo, the night vision quality started to degrade. I've spent hours trying to re-focus the lens on this model (FI9831P v2), and with even the slightest move of the focus ring, it passes through focus and produces once again, pathetic images.

We purchased these to use as baby monitors and sorely regret it. I've tried reaching out to Foscam about this issue, both on the old camera and the new one, and both times I get zero responses. Worst of all, they keep putting out updates with their phone app and that always breaks my connection to the camera and I have to re-connect to the camera with the QRCode.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2015
The audio is terrible compared to my older foscam. Basically, someone has to be less than 2 feet away from the camera for me to hear the audio. Also, the P2P option does not work at all. I scan the QR code, put in the info and it fails to connect. I've rebooted my phone and camera, but same issue. The documentation for the QR code setup is very poor as well. Will be sending this back to Amazon. Very unfortunate because the video quality is great and it has much smoother pan/tilt than my old Foscam.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2014
Good camera once you get it set up. Don't waste the extra money on the Plug and Play, it doesn't work. You still have to port forward it. I had to call customer service and they took very good care of me and now the camera works great.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse