Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 102 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 111 reviews
on October 26, 2013
I purchased this case based on the very positive reviews. I was impressed with this bag for the first four months. However, while pulling the handle up normally, one of the telescoping struts separated from the handle. While I travel a lot, I consider my use normal, not abusive. The handle is plastic and it cracked very easily around the screw hole. It appears that if they added another 15 cents worth of plastic around the screw holes on the handle, it would be quite reliable. Another design change that may help is to run the screws through both sides of the extensions. The current design, however, I cannot recommend. I would try to epoxy it back together, but I can't get to the release mechanism. I contacted the company and they said I was outside the warrantee period, so it was just a waste of money.
review image
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2011
This suitcase was purchased to replace a great Jansport 22 incher which lost a wheel and couldn't be replaced. I am currently using it on my travels in China. It is light which makes filling it with treasures and dirty clothes all the better to keep under the allowed 23 kilos for checked luggage.

A plus with this bag is the fact that packinglight.com uses the exact same bag in it's packing demonstration,s so you can learn how to maximize the use of the bag!
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2013
I travel about every other week and want a carryon that gives me the maximum volume I can without getting "gate challenged" in terms of size. This carry-on fits the bill. I've used it for 4 years now. I've had "22 inch" carryons that either cheated so much in size that I have had to check them (it does not happen a lot but does happen) OR other "22 inch" carryons that fit 20% less stuff than this one (e.g. most spinners). Its soft-sided giving you some give and making it easier to manage at security. Its components have been sturdy over the years, though the ball race in the wheels is beginning to sound a little off. It wears well, still looking good after years of abuse. It has one big cavity so I can fit things in how I like.

Some note that the zippers are hard to move in the corners. I found this problem went away after a few openings and closings.

The only negatives is that the expansion zipper does not give a lot of extra room when you need it outside an airline AND when really stuffed full it can be a little hard to zip.

BTW, in my experience the one place in the world you dont want to take 22" carryons is Australia. Qantas does not permit them and the luggage police will stop you about half the time.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2012
I have purchased several of these over the years for me and family members. They last several years, give great service, and then it is time for a new one. I had preferred the 21" which is really the size you need for overhead in some planes - 22" is a battle - but those are long gone and I have the 22" for 2 generations. Unfortunately they are making the bag worse not better, and the latest version (bought 3 of them) has one annoying design flaw. The problem is that if the bag is full - particularly if the extension is used, the bag wants to fall down front first. Frequently you can not just let it stand on its own - it will just fall down. This is a complaint not only from me but family members as well. When in the airport you have to keep your hand on the handle at all times, or park it in such a way that the front is leaning against something. It is a design flaw, and they probably will fix it in the next generation. In the meantime - if you buy this generation - just know that it will flop down on a regular basis - usually when you need it to happen least.
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2012
I received this bag and originally thought I'd found the perfect carry on! It is built great, rolls nice, has a long handle that pops out, and looks like it would last a long time... but I'll never know, because I had to return it.

As others have said, it cannot zip around the corners. I liked this bag so much, I tried to talk myself into dealing with this disadvantage. But in the end, what good is luggage if you cannot open it! Obviously, some of these bags work because there are good reviews from customers. But I would say do not take the chance.

NOTE TO HIGH SIERRA INC: You made a great bag and the only problem with this bag is very simple. You added extra protection around the corner seems, it's that high gloss orange tubing that is stitched in. It looks cool, and I'm sure it adds some durability to the bag. The problem is it protrudes out from the inside of the bag and the zipper cannot get pass it without getting stuck. Ditch that tubing, get your zipper working, and send me an email because I want to buy a version of this bag that works!
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2013
There are a lot of things I liked about this bag - color, size, weight, appointments - hence the three stars..

I purchased it as a gift for my son and as he was packing it to take on his flight home, we noticed that one of the zippers was catching on the bag material behind it. Not a good sign when the bag starts to fail the first time out. I probably would have returned it if he did not absolutely have to use it immediately. Maybe this zipper thing won't turn out to be too much of a hassle but there it is, one more thing to deal with when packing for a trip. Who needs it?

6 months later: I am adding another star to this item because the zipper issue has resolved itself with continued use. My son flies often and on his recent trip home (using the bag as carry-on) he said that the zippers are now working much better than at first. He also likes that the color makes it easy to spot on the baggage carousel when he does need to check it. So, the only reason now that I'm not giving it 5 stars is that the zippers should have worked properly right off. It has turned out to be a handy and useful piece of luggage. If you buy it just give the zippers time to break in...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2011
this luggage is high quality, very rugged, durable and is a nice looking set of luggage compared to other boring brands. it is light weight as advertised. this is my 2nd set of high sierra luggage. my 1st set lasted over 12 years that included a lot of travel for both my husbands work and for our personal use. it held up exceedingly well considering the abuse it took over the years and that is why we purchased from this company again. hope this helps with your decision to buy this product.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2012
I bought this to replace an Eagle Creek carry-on that now exceeds airline regulations. I was amazed at how light the High Sierra luggage is, and how well made at a fraction of the price I would pay for Eagle Creek. I flew Delta (no problem fitting it in the overhead bin) on a multi-state trip. The bag was handled by taxicab drivers, airline staff, and several kind gentlemen who helped me get it into and out of the overhead bins (I'm short!) and survived without a ding. The wheels roll smoothly and quietly. I love the two-position handle, which fits my short frame. The placement of grips on the top, side and bottom made it easy to pick up. I'm pleased to learn that luggage this light can be of such high quality. Absolutely no complaints about this carry-on.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2012
I bought this wheeled bag earlier this year for an international flight and since owning it, have taken it on a number of flights and road trips. I'm a light packer, but this bag has an incredible amount of interior space. I was able to fit all of my clothing and toiletries for a 2 week international trip with room to spare in this Carry-On.

For quicker trips, the main compartment offers plenty of space for clothing and toiletries with an outside compartment that would be perfect for an iPad or Macbook Air/Ultrabook + charger, with a smaller top pouch for keys and accessories to help you through the security line. For a few weekend trips, I was able to ditch my messenger that typically accompanies my wheelie thanks to the great storage.

The bag itself is a breeze to get through the airport- it's not a 360 degree roller, but I never found this to slow me down. I had no trouble fitting the bag in any of American's overhead bins in both short and mid-range domestic travel as well as an international trip to Japan.

Like other reviewers have noted, my only issue is with the zipper frequently sticking- that's quickly overcome by going a bit slower and after a lot of mileage I haven't noticed any of the seams or zippers showing wear and tear. I hope to have this bag for many years to come.

My only request for improvement would be to include a beverage holder and use a slightly higher quality zipper for the main compartment. I do love the unique colors for the cases that I check this bag- I can spot it a mile away on the baggage carousel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2015
I bought this for a carry on piece of luggage and it worked really well for me. I could fit quite a bit into the suitcase and it held up very well on my trip to Africa. I lived out of it for almost two weeks. It has outside pockets that were really helpful with paperwork and reading materials. The inside is pretty simple. I had already bought a piece of luggage from Costco several years ago, but wanted another color so I could find it quickly on the racks. It turned out that this piece was almost exactly like my old suitcase, just a little fancier. And that piece of luggage has held up very well for me. Just hard to pick out because the color is so not cool!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here