Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Adidas Originals Men's Gazelle Training Shoes 32622 Black/Running White US 11.5
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 1, 2014
The Gazelle has been in the Adidas lineup forever. Some might call it a "retro" shoe, but it's a timeless, no-frills design.
Some things to be aware of, if you're new to the Gazelle:

It's suede. You don't want to get it wet too often. It'll darken the color permanently. If you get the black version, it won't matter as much. Some reviewers complain that it's tight and narrow. This is desirable in suede. As the suede stretches from wear, it conforms to your foot, and you end up with a very comfortable shoe. I'm a 9.5, and that's what I wear in these. It takes about 10 days of daily wear for them to start loosening up on my foot.

The tongue isn't padded. It's a thin, vinyl tongue, like the tongue on the Adidas Samba. When you first get it, it'll be squeaky, until the laces set themselves into the tongue. This thin tongue allows for a more responsive feel on the foot, but it may be an adjustment if you're used to wearing modern moon-boot shoes. In fact, the entire shoe is quite thin, but it isn't floppy. You can easily squeeze into them while they're laced, without having to dig a finger into them to pull the scrunched-up back of the shoe out.

It has a fairly slick sole. You won't be hiking in it. It's not a hard rubber, but it's not a sticky gum rubber, either. It's VERY well bonded to the rubber rand around the bottom. The shoes, in general, are tough, simple, and understated, with the suede providing a bit of casual elegance.

I've worn them for so long that I take them for granted. I think of the Gazelle as a utilitarian shoe, until people comment on them. "Sweet shoes..."

Then I think "Yeah, they really are.".
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2008
The adidas Gazelle is one of those shoes you buy for a weekend afternoon to wear along with your softest jeans and most comfortable shirt. They look really nice in person, and offer a bit more arch support (and heel height) than many other "old school" retro shoes - but are still a low heeled shoe when compared to modern running and basketball shoes. Insoles are non-removable, so you can't upgrade the fit.

These are slightly narrow and slightly long for their given size. The extra length appears to be due to the rounded shape of the toe box - from experience these will just be a hair long - but not like a well known popular canvas retro shoe where you need to fall back in size.

Overall I'd buy another pair without hesitation, and recommend them to a friend.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2015
These shoes are pretty great. Only one problem: The material on the inside back of the shoe makes it such that when my sock rubs against it, they squeak - pretty loudly. Loudly enough that people have said things. Still awesome shoes, and just tell people to shut up and mind their own business.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2014
I love the looks of these shoes, and this is my forth pair over 20+ years. This particular pair is a little longer than the last, but still fit Ok. They also squeaked a little until I put some talcum powder on their tongues. I still love the looks of these shoes, but maybe not the most comfortable. If they're like the other pairs I've owned, they'll fit better as they wear in.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2015
This was one of the best footwear purchases I have ever made. First off, I saved about twenty bucks by buying them through amazon rather than the adidas store. The size was true and they are very comfortable to wear for long periods of time. I will say that they are very flat soled shoes and don't offer much in arch support. That isn't an issue for me, but if you need arch support it is something to consider. Overall I am ecstatic with this purchase and would buy them again once I wear this pair out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2016
Gazelles are my favorites shoes; been buying and wearing them since I was a teenager. I think I'm at 17 pairs right now. I usually buy them when I can find them. Have a few pairs I bought the multiple times I've visited Greece and Turkey. These shoes look great and are super comfortable. Make sure you spray them with a suede sealant before wearing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2016
Excellent buy fast delivery too. Shoes were wrapped well, no scratches, marks or any other imperfections. Bought two pairs of these shoes, one was OG style and this one the difference was Gazelle written on the side of the shoes. I bought these as a gift for a Nieghbor Boy that got straight A's on his report card. I was going to send one pair back but ended up keeping both one as a gift the other is in the closet. Great product good company. You won't be disappointed. Would buy again.
Thanks for reading. Reviews help consumers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2015
Very old school. Was a little put off by the plastic tongue of the shoe but it didn't rub like I though it might. The tongue does come up higher than most shoes but having worn them for 3 hours, I didn't get any rubbing on my shin. A little heavier than I would have expected but a very comfortable shoe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2014
This is a very good shoe, but it is not quite the original. The Gazelle I wore 20 years ago was so comfortable it was almost like being in your socks! This is a great shoe, and it is comfortable, so I'm not saying don't buy it, and I do like it. It is just not quite as soft as the originals were. If I had never worn the old ones, this review would be completely positive! I still recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2014
I am not sure who this show was meant for but it wasn't an adult for sure! the toe area is so narrow that I don't know many teenagers who's foot would fit in this shoe and don't even bother if you normally wear a wide width shoe because this wont even accommodate my hand and it folds inward unlike a foot lol.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here