Your Garage Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning Landline Landline Landline  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 127 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 132 reviews
on February 25, 2012
I got these for my friend and had so much fun painting them. Made a great gift.
Some people have mentioned that the wood absorbs the paint. That is true, so I recommend pre-treating it. You don't have to do anything special, just cover each piece with white glossy acrylic paint and let it dry.
review image
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2016
I just received this order in a very timely manner. This is my first set of unpainted dolls to work with so I have nothing to compare them to, but they seem very well made; no cracks or thin areas or unreasonable stains. There is sawdust on them and they smell wonderful so it seems like they had just been made before they were shipped. If there are problems with the make and workmanship of the dolls when I begin to work with them I will adjust this comment accordingly. Otherwise a very nice product and I recommend BestPysanky.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2015
I got two sets of these for use in an art project, and I'm a pretty big fan of them. The wood is smooth and pleasant to the touch, all the dolls fit nicely, and though the first couple of times opening them required a little twisting back and forth they stayed open without being loose after that. All the dolls sit steadily when set out in a row. The littlest one is very light, so if you're putting it somewhere it will be jostled a lot tape it down.

Definitely prep the dolls with a little modge podge or primer before you paint. The wood drinks paint in if you don't.

I did run a rough piece of cloth around the inside and bottom to remove a tiny amount of loose wood shavings. It didn't seem to harm the wood.

Also, two of the dolls in one set had knots in their finish. It didn't affect the texture and I could easily paint over them, but if you're just staining as opposed to painting you should plan for that. The other set had no knots at all. I'm guessing it's kind of luck of the draw, but both sets turned out great.

I used acrylic paints on one and glued paper to the other. If you're gluing paper, be sure not to get glue in the seams or wipe it out if you do it it might make the fit a little hard. Also, smooth the paper down as flat as you can get it and don't use more than two magazine-page thickness layers or it will make your dolls fit weirdly.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2016
These arrived yesterday, it is my 3 time buying unpainted dolls an over all I am pleased with the quality of the cuts and the wood, they seem to fit together well.

My one big complaint is that despite the description saying 5.75in the tallest doll is 6.5in easy, not a huge deal until you factor in that the second tallest doll is a mere 4 inches. They go down from there to 3 inches, 2.5in and 1.5in for the smallest. Bottom line the largest doll looks like it belongs to a different set and was thrown in hap-hazardly with the other four which go together great.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2016
Really great product and worth the price. Purchased 4 of these and every one came in great condition! Even unpainted they still look beautiful and are very smooth! Some pieces did fit more snug but a little hand sanding seems to work just fine. We did find that using a base coat before painting helped because they really absorb the paint. Overall I am very pleased with my purchase and would love to buy again! I would be careful handling though as the wood is a bit on the thinner side and could easily break if you aren't careful!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2017
Overall I'm happy with them, no cracks or extremely ill fitting pieces - I did need to sand them on the outside to get rid of some roughness on the largest doll and on the inside of two of them to make them easier to open and close. No problem there, these are extremely cheap so I did not expect them to be perfectly sanded. The smaller 4 dolls are perfectly shaped and adorable.

I am a bit disappointed with the shape of the largest doll though. I assumed that a template was used when making these on a lathe so that they'd all have the same shape as the ones pictured in the listing, but the largest doll lacks the curvature from the shoulder to ankle that the others has...it's more straight. Looks like it went on a diet and lost the cute plumpness I expected. Considering I chose this set for the shape, it was a bit of a bummer to open it up to see that.

It's not enough of a bummer to not use them, and I'd buy these again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2017
I ordered these as a birthday gift for my wife and she which has not happened yet. I couldn't resist opening them and feel pretty enthused. They seem well made and I think she'll enjoy them. I was pretty pleased to get a message from the company inquiring about my satisfaction. Great overall transaction
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2015
Even better than they look in the picture. This is high quality, and my mother who is a painter absolutely loved this unique and beautiful gift, as she has always dreamed of painting her own set of nesting dolls.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2017
I bought these for my wife. She is one of five sisters, and I thought that she would like to paint one of these for each of the sisters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2011
very clean and well polished wood. It DOSE soak up a LOT of paint. I had to put a lot of coats of pain on them. I used an acrlic paint and plan to shalack them.
review image
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse