Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 199 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 207 reviews
on February 9, 2017
Bought this to use in dashi stock along with bonito flakes. There is a lot of seaweed in the package, so it's a really great value. I snip off what I need with kitchen shears and store the rest in a ziploc bag in my fridge. Adds an indefinable flavor to the stock and the seaweed itself rehydrates well to become soft and tasty. Will definitely be buying again when I run out. (Noticed some negative reviews... The package I received was fine. The sheets were dry and fragrant. No discoloration. Great quality.)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2017
Thank goodness for Amazon! I needed this particular seaweed for a specific pickle, and there was NO PLACE locally to get it.

I am making the pickled pineapple with chilis from the "Mission Street Chinese Cookbook". I plan to serve them with my Easter ham, and it's also a trial run to see if I want to make them for a luau this summer.

The package holds a LOT! I just used 1 sheet, and there are at least 6 more. It's got an interesting smell, and a viscous texture when wet. Dry, though, the remainder should last forever, or until I use them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2017
I actually bought this to feed my salt water fish and crabs but it is too thick and leathery for them. They seemed interested in it but just couldn't pick it apart well. I only have small shrimp, crabs and a clown fish. After softening up for days the crabs got a little but I don't know how long I can keep it in before it goes rancid. For larger fish, like Angels or Tangs or larger fish it may work but don't have those fish yet. ....I did eat some and I will find a recipe and use it as for what it is intended for now because it is tasty and would be good in a soup or something. Good flavor. I think I'll go snack on some now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2017
Lots for the price. Put one strip into soup for iodine & magnesium, then trash it after cooking. Just a mild "herbal" flavor, plus the soup is sweeter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2016
I finally made real dashi-miso, it was magnificent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2017
Perfect addition for traditional stock, easy to use. Adds the right flavor to bonito stock for miso soup and other dishes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2017
This is not the first Kombu that I've used, but it seems to be the best. I use it so that my family can eat beans of any variety without suffering from flatulence. Couldn't do without it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2017
Bought this for miso soup to use with Miko miso paste! Great combo!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2015
I used this in my miso soup and it does take awhile to cook down.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2017
Exactly what i wanted for a good price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 18 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here