Oil month Automotive HPC World Book Day Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Made for you. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon westworldS2 westworldS2 westworldS2  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now TG18PP_gno



on February 3, 2014
This is approximately my 10th pair of NB trail-running shoes. I buy them in black so I can wear them to work, and get away with not having to change into typical hard shoes - loafers or whatever. I'm expected to wear "business attire" Monday through Thursday, but so far I've been getting away with athletic shoes. I find running shoes so much more comfortable, and New Balance are the best...though I've had a couple pairs of Asics, and they're great too.

This is the first time I've bought them through Amazon (don't know why I didn't think of it before), but it was such a non-hassle way to buy, that I'll probably do it again. The only problem with going to the stores is that it usually takes 2 or 3 trips - they typically either don't have my size in stock on that day, don't have them in black, etc., so I have to keep going back.

Amazon's price was among the lowest I have paid - equal to the infrequent "Super Sale" prices at Sports Authority or Big 5. By the way, I still have most of my old pairs of New Balance. After about a year, they get too old looking to wear to work, but I continue to wear them on the weekend, when I'm doing DIY projects, and so forth.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 1, 2014
UPDATE 4/3/2014 Contacted New Balance. They have no such thing as a warranty and will only allow an exchange or return within 30 days of sale. Tread falls off after 32 days? Not going to replace it. I am done buying their shoes. They are not the same quality I experienced as late as 2010.
I would wear them to school perhaps twice a week for 4 months. Then the treads underneath started falling off. Don't buy new balance shoes that do not have one solid piece of rubber for the bottom, the different colors of rubber will separate and fall apart.
review imagereview image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 13, 2014
As more than a few people have observed before me, these shoes are too narrow and too small.
I've been wearing various New Balance 12 4E for many years, and until recently have been confident enough in the sizing that I could buy them online without even checking at a shoe store or similar places to try them on.
Sadly I fear those days are coming to an end. I can only speculate as to the cause: cost cutting, overseas outsourcing, poor quality control, and similar things others have guessed. New Balance isn't addressing it as far as I know.
If this unfortunate trend ends up affecting the other models I have been buying over the years, I may have to look for a new brand.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 28, 2013
I always wear New Balance shoes. I have runners, cross trainers, and trail runners from them. I wanted a pair of less expensive trail runners for days when the paths were muddy (i.e. didn't want to mess up my more expensive shoes).

I had never purchased "cheap" New Balance runners before and, after this pair, I will never do it again. These are VERY cheaply made compared to all of my other shoes. Granted, all of those were more expensive, but not always by very much. Like other reviewers have mentioned, the insoles in these are JUNK JUNK JUNK! I immediately replaced them with insoles from an older, beat up pair of New Balance runners and even those were better. The shoes are relatively light, but the construction and materials are just not very good. I ran a few times in these and they just aren't that comfortable. I'm pretty much going to relegate these to yard work duty.

For the price I paid, these aren't bad shoes. If you just need some shoes for running errands and yard work, these are OK. However, don't count on these for any athletic activities. Save your money and invest in something just a little bit better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 16, 2014
This is the last pair of New Balance Shoes I will purchase, here or anywhere else. Like so many I have purchased NB exclusively for athletic shoes for many years. I actually had to go out and purchase orthotics to place in these shoes in order to have enough support to keep wearing them. The insoles I took out were shoddy and cheap and were 'barely there.' I suppose all good things must come to an end, but I don't know how a company such as New Balance slips from being a top-tier manufacturer to one of the lower end ones. Such a shame. They do look nice though, but form over function does not work very well when your back is killing you after wearing them for over two hours at a time. Buyer Beware!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 26, 2017
These were great shoes and I love New Balance but not long after wearing them the "N" started to come off and shortly after the tread from the sole came off as well and this is with extremely light use. I only wore them maybe once a week and the rest of the time I wear boots and after not many times of wearing it was showing extreme signs of wear. I bought these when they were on sale so now that they are not it is surely something I would never buy at either price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 17, 2014
I first bought these shoes on June 30, 2013. They lasted me about 9 months before the tread on the bottom started to peel off. Figuring that it was just a defective pair, I ordered another pair on May 11, 2014. By October 2014 (5 months), I noticed that the mesh around the pinky toe was starting to tear.

I've often thought of New Balance as a quality brand that was not very expensive. However, with these last two pairs of shoes, I am no longer convinced of that. I'm not sure if it is the change in manufacturing, if I am harder on my shoes that I realize, or this model is just defective. Either way, I am not going to order these shoes again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 30, 2015
I liked these shoes the first buy so much that I bought them again. Unfortunately these shoes fell apart within four months of every day wear. I don't mean normal wear and tear as you would expect from every day wear. I mean the fabric came unwound. Big holes appeared in several places and the shoe laces completely deteriorated. I threw the old pair away when these arrived and now I wish I would have kept them because they were in better shape than the new ones are now. Did I just get a bad batch?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 17, 2014
My poor husband can only wear wide shoes so I always turn to new balance 4E width for his shoes. Not a lot of options to choose from so he usually gets shoes just like these every year. Never had a problem with them. Fabric never tears, back of shoe holds up, able to throw them in the washer since he is a softball coach and is so hard on his shoes. He always gets the same size and the shoes always fit so I think the new balance brand is pretty consistent with their sizes from style to style. Also, these are great shoes for his bunions which cause him to need a wide shoe as well. Not a lot of fake leather around the toe to constrict the feet and lets the toes spread out. A+
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 27, 2014
I need a wide shoe. When I opened the box, the big tag appeared to have said WIDE SIZE in huge letters. When I put on the shoes, they were horribly tight! Reading the tag carefully, I saw that in a tiny font was "Available in" and then in huge font was "WIDE SIZE"! Is this a deliberate consumer rip-off? Did some absent-minded warehouse person see only the clearly visible "WIDE SIZE"? 2E is supposed to be a wide size, not a tight, painful fit! I hate wearing those shoes, but had to wear them because I was attending an event and my other shoes were falling apart. CONSUMERS: Steer clear of NEW BALANCE and purchase from a reputable store! What a waste of money on my part!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here