Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 110 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 189 reviews
on August 16, 2015
This is my favorite of Marquez' books--poignant, brutally real,and somehow hopeful. Not since Jane Austin has an author explored the concept of love to this depth: the heart fluttering illusions of youth, the psychotic obsessions of unrequited love, the wild abandon of carnal pleasure, and the sweet affection of old age.

Marquez jumps around in time as usual, and if this bothers you he's not for you. Time doesn't exist in his world. Also true to his style, he discloses the end at the beginning, or most of the end. I think that's why I like this novel the most. It holds some surprises.

Marquez has created a long, detailed account of a life from young adulthood to old age. The foreplay goes on forever so that you want to say "Enough already!" But the ending satisfies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2017
El lector se sumerge en la narrativa espectacular de García Márquez.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2017
Me encanta cómo Gabriel G.Márquez escenifica cada párrafo transportando al lector a un viaje tan lúcido y descriptivo que se vive cada lágrima, sonrisa, expresión y sentimiento.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2016
Hermosa y maravillosa historia de amor escrita por el gran García Marquez. Es cierto que en ocasiones se vuelve tedioso y tiene muchas escenas de relleno pero aún así es maravilloso y perfectamente escrito. Si te gustan las historias de amor y las novelas de Gabriel García Marquez este libro es para ti. Me llegó en perfectas condiciones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2017
beautiful history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2015
Exquisite, detailed, descriptive writing. Follows the hearts and lives of 19th century Spanish colonials (Colombia, I think), from teenage love, through lifelong obsession and some hard-won wisdom gained through experience, to a final lyrical resolution to obsessive love in old age.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2017
Este libro es tan rico en su narrativa que no importa cuantas veces lea este libro siempre me causa la misma emocion te hace revivir cada experiencia de los personajes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2016
Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2016
Garcia Marquez is an excellent storyteller and catches the Latin American culture in a brilliant way. Love in the Time of Cholera is not his best work, as it drags on mostly about Florentino's sad life and poor choices in life, but worth reading every minute.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2016
I believe Marquez received the noble prize primarily for this book (although 100 years of solitude could also be argued for, of course). I am currently working hard on the spanish language primarily so as to read this book again in the original language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse